Wicked! First installment complete

Well, the first of the twelve projected sweaters for me is complete.  This is despite a few challenges along the way – okay, maybe this was predictable…

Picture 005 by you.

 

But someone was rather taken with Mum’s yarn 🙂

Finished last night and blocked this afternoon, it seems that this trial run is the only wearing this Wicked will get for a while!  The weather is meant to be hot hot tomorrow, so no wearing it tomorrow night for DH’s birthday.  Ah well, it’s still nice to have a goal in mind.

Picture 010 by you.

 

Now, rather than to start out on another big project, I have cast on for the socks for my sister’s birthday present. This is using the yarn I dyed up the other day.  This is it under bright light today, the colours are pretty true.

Picture 006 by you.

I so hope that she feels like a bright colour!

My sock addiction has reached new heights too, I must confess.  I got my mother to take me to two local libraries today and we scoured the shelves for knitting books.  Two of the ones I got out were on sock knitting.  And with the help of one of them I have been designing and knitting my first ever original pattern 🙂 Here’s a sneak peak of it this afternoon… Since then I have turned the heel and done the gusset.  I am a good way down the foot now too. So, there will be another sock installment soon.  If you can’t tell, those are wee butterflies down the front.  Too cute!  Would look beautiful on a wee girl’s sock too, but that will have to wait for another day.

Picture 007 by you.

10 Responses to “Wicked! First installment complete”


  1. 1 Judy January 6, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    OK; so I’ll flag the idea of doing socks for her too… Great minds think alike!

  2. 2 Fi January 6, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Awesome! Now remind when you started that…. I am feeling like a very slooooooow knitter.

    • 3 shortly24 January 7, 2009 at 9:55 am

      Don’t worry Fi, it was my one WIP for the challenge. I started it before I got busy on Christmas knitting, so early December.

  3. 4 hoaenz January 6, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I particularly like the neckline on your latest wicked. Nice!
    So you plan to knit 12 sweaters this year?

  4. 5 shortly24 January 6, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Yep, twelve sweaters. You think I can do it?

    Judy – socks, yep, first one done, so maybe another knitted goody might be better for her 🙂 Great minds might well think alike by the sounds of it!

  5. 6 vanjeffery January 6, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I think the blue one is the best one yet! Well done babe!

    And look at that mobile baby!!!!! 😯

  6. 7 sarah b. January 7, 2009 at 4:46 am

    Very nice! I’ve had Wicked on my list for some time, but seeing yours makes me want to make it even more!

  7. 8 SweetP January 7, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Giggled at the picture of you knitting wicked in a wicked! It looks great well done

  8. 9 KJ January 7, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    oh the blue one is sooo pretty Shortly, will be cheering you on for your 12 knits in 12 months *faints*

  9. 10 knewbieknitter January 8, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I love it 😀 It’s the perfect colour for you 😀


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

