Two Down – Greeny Gables complete!

My second NaKniSweMoDo project is complete. This is the Green Gables, completed in Woolganics yarn from a co-op at the end of last year. This is the Blossom colourway. Defintely more of a terracotta tone, but lovely and people who have seen me knitting with it have admired the colour.  I cannot recommend it highly enough as a knitting experience – soft and buttery yarn that did not split at all. Not even once in the whole garment! I knit it on 4mm Knitpicks Nickel tips, and the arms were done on 40cm Addis – the pattern recommends DPNs but the 40cm was fine for my size. This was another easy knit, but I don’t see the point in knitting complicated stuff if it’s not easy to wear. At the end of the day, I am still a SAHM who needs things to be practical. That said, I am thinking about a lighter knit for my next project. I thought the Paton’s Serenity I saw my friend knitting with the other day was divinely light. It should suit the humid months we have ahead of us in my home town.

I have to confess that it seemed like not a lot went right today – kids not napping at the same time, DH’s car fixing project making things worse instead of better, a trip into the shops that was about 3 hours past the optimum time for the kids.  Hmph. Anyway, it was nice to end the day with a completed project, to block it and to have it look good. I think that the blocking of this sweater is essential to make the lace pop.  The neckline was rolling over when I tried in on during knitting but blocking made it come right.

 

I got DH to take the project pics in front of the beautiful new mural my PIL had painted since our last visit.  A homage to Magritte I believe.  Annnyway, here goes

261208-0011

261208-003

 

I would love to show you more pics, but alas, I’m holidaying in the land of dial-up… and I might be here all night if I did 🙂

5 Responses to “Two Down – Greeny Gables complete!”


  1. 1 Kelly January 17, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Well done on completeing your second NaKniSweMoDo project 🙂 More yummy Zephyr Style stuff too 😉

  2. 2 Judy January 17, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Very cute and wearable! Well done!

  3. 3 Jo January 17, 2009 at 7:53 am

    oh that’s nice, well done

  4. 4 SweetP January 17, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Gosh you are a MACHINE!!! Well done, it looks great xx


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 340,375 hits

