Pohutukawa Socks

Finished while we were away from civilisation at the beach, these are my Pohutukawa Socks.

 

 

picture-1528small

These were knitted from yarn I got from the TNN yarn swap.  It was dyed by the lovely Flea as part of a themed gift.  The theme she chose was a Kiwi Christmas.    Here’s a snap of the whole parcel.

Picture1247.jpg picture by shortly_24

The yarn really celebrates the beauty of summer and the native pohutukawa tree – which we have masses of here. They are right along the beach front, and I’d love to have taken the socks on a photographic outing, but alas life conspires against us  sometimes.

For the pattern – I wrote about this last week – I meant to knit something I had read the pattern once and then didn’t have it with me when I cast on (doh!) and so improvised. I like the end result – it has meant the minimum of pooling and the socks colours look great in this pattern.

Row 1: Knit 1, p1

Row 2 and 4, Knit

Row 3, P1, K1

Simple, eh.  But I think it looks great.

I cast on 66 stitches on 3mm needles and knit 10 rows of k2 p2 rib.  Then I knit another 2 inches before reducing down to 54 stitches.  Legs are 6.5 inches long, then I knit a French Heel, and a Wedge Toe.  They are a lovely light sock, the yarn was Cleckheaton Cocoon, and I am really looking forward to wearing them! 

picture-1529

4 Responses to “Pohutukawa Socks”


  1. 1 SweetP January 27, 2009 at 8:35 am

    They look great, well done

  2. 2 Delwyn January 27, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Joe is disturbed by your head being missing in so many photos… I love the pink scooped neck jumper.
    Delwyn

  3. 4 nova February 2, 2009 at 11:40 am

    very cool!! the pattern is fab with that yarn too 😀


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

