Knitting Lessons

The last week has not been the most productive one for me, knitting wise.  Firstly, we took off for the beach and I took just three projects or potential projects with me. And from these I learnt some lessons I thought I should share with you so you avoid making the same mistakes.

1. Life is too short to knit with bad yarn.

I bought some cute vintage yarn from Savemart when I was with my mum. She pointed it out to me, and it appealed to me – cute wee label, still weighed in ounces, it looked like 4 ply and there was probably enough to make a pair of socks (3x 1oz)… and at $3, it wasn’t much of a risk. 
But I should probably have just left it to languish in my stash. Instead, I cast on for some socks, on 2.5mm needles.  I decided to go toe up since I wasn’t sure how far the yarn would go. And I didn’t swatch, which was probably the biggest mistake I made. Basically, if I were a workman, these socks would be for me… they would wear like iron. The yarn lacks softness and pliability, which is a shame, and while I liked the colouring in the ball, knit up it’s just a bit blah. So, I think these are headed for the frog pond before I waste any more time on them. After all, life is too short to knit with bad yarn.

picture-1577

2. Knitting with black yarn in low lighting makes it really hard to see a pattern well.

Project #2 was a pair of Fargyles in some random black DK I scored from Mum. I actually think it’s left over from a cardigan I had in my teens (so no jokes about vintage yarn here folks!).  I cast of for the first sock not long after we arrived at the bach, and got a bit of time to knit that afternoon – but after dinner and once the kidlets were dispatched to bed, we sat outside talking (and knitting if you were me!)  The next morning I could see some mistakes I hadn’t spotted the night before. They’re not significant, but still a bit disappointing. So sock#1 is completed, sock #2 is started and waiting for me to have good lighting to work on it.

3. Lace knitting isn’t the best choice when you are sleep deprived

The final project I packed was my intended third sweater project for the year.  With a Christmas voucher from MIL I purchased some lovely Patons Serenity in a stunning red colour (was tossing up between a purple and red) and cast for the Lilian tank top which is not hard – the pattern makes perfect sense and I thought I had the lace down pat… but my knitting told a different story.  Darling daughter #2 slept relatively well at the beach, but had been waking at least twice  a night for our entire stay before that. Methinks lace knitting should be left for times when adequate sleep has occured.

So, there you are – some knitting lessons from me.  I’ve tried to learn from them, and I’ve abandoned the idea of Lillian (for this summer at least) and now the yarn is being knit up into a Leaf T-Shirt which seems to suit both the level of light and the amount of sleep I’ve been getting.

3 Responses to “Knitting Lessons”


  1. 1 SweetP February 1, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Black yarn and our lowly lit lounge = major procrastination on M’s blanket which just needs the edging done. So yeah black yarn isnt my favourite either. I’m halfway through my fargyles. Its a cool pattern isnt it.

    Look forward to seeing your leaf tshirt. I got some more serenity on sale at Spotlight but havent decided what to do wiht it yet

    • 2 shortly24 February 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      I’m glad it’s not just me then. Seriously jealous on the Serenity bargain! I’m enjoying knitting with it. The odd split, but way nicer to knit with than many other cotton-y type yarns. I’d better get a move on with the Leaf shirt though!!


  1. 1 Grey Skies, Blue Socks « Shortly Stitches Trackback on February 12, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 340,674 hits

