Self Congratulation

Well, decluttering *does* bring its own rewards. The obvious one is less clutter.  You can usher in a new era of organisation, space and tidyness. 

So, the last few weeks I’ve been decluttering.  DD2 is 8 months now and well grown out of newborn nappies, and well on her way to outgrowing her smalls. No more babies means those lovely nappies were just cluttering up the place.  As were the baby clothes.  And the maternity gear.  And random alsorted junk too!  So I’ve been trying to work through piles of things and list them on TradeMe , smaller items or things I just *knew* would be too big to send via the post, I sent to the local hospice shop.  I’ve taken maybe 4 loads of things down there in the past few weeks, including the findings of outgrown clothes from DS11’s drawers today. And it feels good!

But I’ve got lots more work ahead of me, as DH uncovers things in the garage (you know, I’d honestly forgotten I had a swift before the one I have now!), as I decide what to do with *all those baby clothes!!* etc.  So, how does  a girl inspire herself?

Self congratulation of course!

This is what arrived in my letter box yesterday…

picture-1754

I can guarantee you, these take up much less room that what they replaced, and are much more relevant to my life right now too 🙂

So, in order to inspire me to keep up with the NaKniSweMoDo challenge of knitting 12 sweaters in ’09, I chose two books full of sweaters and cardigans that are knit in one piece, mostly from the top down.  I got both from South Seas Knitting and was really impressed with the service. They had a great range of books and magazines in stock, and got them here within just a couple of days.  And they even used some recycled packing materials! Their site also has a great selection of delicious imported yarn, but I steered clear of that right now.  For now.  But boy did I drool!

I am thinking my first projects from these books will likely be these:

picture-17551

From Fitted Knits, the Drop Stitch Lace Tank which should work up nicely in some navy Soy/Cotton I got from Spotlight a few weeks ago.

And from Custom Knits, the Slinky Ribs which I also hope to make from stash.

There are so many cute patterns for sweaters and cardigans for the colder months too, so I am really stoked with these purchases.

Now I need to not only get on with the decluttering, but with the knitting as well.

6 Responses to “Self Congratulation”


  1. 1 SweetP February 15, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Declutter city here at the moment too as we are moving in 2 weeks (arggh!). Slinky Ribs is cool! Look forward to seeing how you get on. I’ve swatched for the lion neck cardy as my next me knit. after house move though lol

  2. 2 shortly24 February 15, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Good luck with the shift. It’s quite cathartic to declutter. Not quite so much as knitting though.

  3. 3 cici February 16, 2009 at 6:37 am

    i am in need of decluttering big time. I love this book Fitted Knits

  4. 4 Amybel February 17, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Congrats on decluttering the baby stuff. That in and of itself is an important step in the evolution of a mother. I’m not there yet, but thanks for the inspiration!

  5. 5 I February 17, 2009 at 4:09 am

    Aww. I am always sad at the “shift of sizes” for my kids. 😦 8mos is almost toddler stage too. See you around!

    • 6 shortly24 February 17, 2009 at 9:09 am

      Argh, not a toddler yet! (I’m deep in denial about what it means to have a pulls-herself-to-stand, attempts-to-cruise-the-furniture baby around. But you’re right, it’s happening all too soon 😦


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

