Archive for February 24th, 2009

Harvest Season

Well, it’s time to harvest the vegetables in the garden, and I’ve been doing just that recently.  We have enjoyed fresh vegetables with dinner almost every night since we’ve been back from holiday – so the last month or so.  And no sign of abating either. I scored a 7kg box of tomatoes for $5 from the local vege shop too, and I spent a good part of Saturday turning some into puree. Tomorrow: Sauce! Mmmm, they were beautiful!

picture-1782

But it’s not just vegetables that I’ve been harvesting. I finally set to and ripped apart the Sublime hoodie that I’ve been eyeing up for the past few months. Long story short: 3 balls of very expensive yarn went into this newborn sized hoodie that was soon grown out of.  And not that cute after all that work!  So, I have been thinking about what it could  become. So, first it had to be picked apart.  It seems like ages since I made a seamed garment, so picking one apart felt odd. But, I’ve finally got there.  Does this look like $45 worth of yarn to you?picture-1785

Nearly 3 balls of Sublime Baby Merino Cashmere DK. And it is destined to become a knitted teddy for DD2. After all, what could better suit a yarn addicted baby?

This is the pattern I have chosen:

picture-1786

This is the Teddy Bear from Debbie Bliss’s Simply Baby book which I borrowed from the library. I think this yarn will make it so incredibly snuggly!  Apparently it’s all knit separately, and I’ve love to work out how to make it with less seaming, so I will have to get my thinking cap on and see how I can adapt this for a more enjoyable knit.


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 339,049 hits