Slinky Ribs in progress

Knitting is coming along well on the Slinky Ribs sweater.  I have finally reached the stocking stitch portion of the knit.  All this despite distracting myself with a bit of teddy knitting 🙂

picture-1787

I am liking the way this is looking, it’s hard to see the rib detailing here, but it’s cute 🙂

picture-1788

I was also delighted to score two more balls of the yarn from my local yarn shop in the same dyelot – given that this was a gift bought goodness knows where (from a still secret swap!) this is incredibly good luck.  I should now be able to have long sleeves, which will make this so cosy! And there are more balls in the shop too, if I need them.

While some people might complain at the idea of 10 or more inches of stocking stitch ahead of them, I’m not going to. We are heading away for my Uni course this afternoon, which is about 5 hours drive each way. I figure that even with sharing the driving, I’ll be grateful for some plain knitting to keep my fingers busy on the drive.

2 Responses to “Slinky Ribs in progress”


  1. 1 Becky February 28, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Thanks for your comment a few days ago at my place. I spent a bit of time checking out yours. Your fresh veggies made my mouth water. I am anxious for the growing season to start here. The flipflop of seasons just slays me! Also, I think the teddy is a grand idea for the expensive yarn. Cuddlysoft, and a lasting object.

    • 2 shortly24 March 1, 2009 at 11:44 pm

      Thanks Becky, it was nice to visit at yours – I will call again soon 🙂 Teddy is starting to take shape a bit now too, although I’ve been doing mostly sweater knitting while away this weekend. We have been enjoying the summer weather here – I have a sister in the other hempisphere so am getting used to seasonal differences myself. She always regals me with tales of her summer veges when we are going through our most unproductive patch. It does strengthen the resolve to plant again come spring time.


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

