Pink Butterfly

So, as a complete aside from the Slinky Ribs (which still needs a couple more inches of length on the body), I have been doing something totally unselfish! My lovely friend Razz wanted some testers for a great wee pattern she wrote, Spring Butterfly.  She wanted quick knitters, so I have dedicated my needles to this pretty much exclusively for the last day and a half, and am delighted with the outcome!

picture-1816

As you can see, it’s a pretty ‘butterfly’ sleeved top (picot cast off) with a gorgeous butterfly detail on the back, and sweet reverse stocking stitch panel.

picture-18171

picture-18111

 The yarn has been stashed for a couple of years, and it feels good to have a project for it.  I picked it up at Dunkley’s craft show, I can’t remember who dyed it, but I loved the colours. It’s a bit rough to work with though, definitely will need a t-shirt or long sleeves underneath! 

It was intended to fit Miss 8 months this winter (as it’s a size 1) but it’s a little big for now (but winter is 3 months away yet!)…

 

picture-1829small

 

picture-1828

In the meantime, it has been commandeered by her sister, who loves it too. It goes to show you, it’s been ages since I knit anything for the girls, so it looks like I’ve whet their appetite for more.

picture-1837small

picture-1825

8 Responses to “Pink Butterfly”


  1. 1 Judy March 4, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Ok, so I’m repeating myself here… but that pattern is so SWEET! And the girls look super cute. R’s eyes are soooo huge!

  2. 2 erin's artsy crafty side March 5, 2009 at 3:49 am

    This is lovely. Tell Razz she did a great job!

    I haven’t got any wee ones myself; but, I am knitting Snuggly Cardigans for friends who have babies on the way. These are the first garments I have knit ever. I have been crocheting for ages, but never any garments (I don’t count hats and scarves as garments, they are more “accessories” in my mind). I finally taught myself to knit this past September.

    • 3 shortly24 March 5, 2009 at 9:23 am

      I have the opposite experience with coming to crochet more recently. I haven’t made any garments yet – watch this space though 🙂
      I – I’ve done my apprenticeship with boys (well, just the one) so am totally enjoying the girls to spoil! Also, the fact that the only jersey I knit for DS took a month and then got left on the school soccer field overnight has meant I’m on strike for boy’s things!

  3. 4 I March 5, 2009 at 4:02 am

    Girls in general have cuter clothes, aside from sweater vests boys are left in the cold. Those kids are adorable!! That is such a cute little detail in back of the sweater too.

  4. 5 nova March 5, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    very pretty!! and omg aren’t they a gorgeous pair!?

  5. 6 susanbunny March 6, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    This is lovely, what a beautiful design….

  6. 7 jeshiko March 11, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    your girls are gorgeous!


  1. 1 Blogtober 16th: Testing, testing | Rock n' Toddler Trackback on October 19, 2009 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

