Other obsessions

Much as I love knitting, it’s not all that fills my days. Other obsessions are…

** Our vegetable garden **

The summer is coming to a close and with it the productive cycle of our vegetable garden.  This is the third summer we have enjoyed the garden in raised boxes that my father and husband built, and it has been so much easier to keep weeded, watered and has been much more productive.  I have planted out some things that I hope will be growing and feeding the family into the winter months, but I have also been thinking about what has earned its place and what will probably not get planted next year.

Undisputed star of my garden this summer was the yellow zuchinni. I had one yellow plant and 4 green – and we are getting about equal numbers of yellow to green! A definite for next year.  The other things I have been impressed by are my rhubarb which is finally bushy and productive

picture-1792

The native (New Zealand) spinach – it was slow to start and I thought it was going nowhere – but it’s always ready for picking and just keeps growing and growing!

picture-1793

We have also been consistently enjoying lettuce, cherry tomatoes, spinach, cucumbers and silverbeet.   We had masses of cabbages, but my favourite were the red ones.  I also (finally) had success with some cauliflowers.

picture-1794picture-1795picture-17991 And of course, some things were disappointing – this year it was the turn of capsicums to do poorly.  And I am starting to think I am destined never to grow carrots or onions successfully. Although I’ve got friends who grow both successfully within a kilometre of here, I have had no luck year after year.

** Baking **

I love to cook, and with Miss 2.5 as my increasingly more able assistant, we have a lot of fun. Today’s mission was a carrot cake. I can’t remember ever making one before. But it looks good…

picture-18501

And it tastes pretty good too…

 

picture-1851

** Sewing**

I sooo wish I had time right now, but it seems like weeks since I had a chance to sew. I had  a new Ottobre magazine land through my letterbox during the week, but I can’t see having the time to sew for myself for a while yet.

** Reading**

On the beside table at the moment is: The Secret of Lost Things by Sheridan Hay which is a really enjoyable story involving a literary mystery. Less engrossing is The Craft of Research, for one of my Uni papers. More engrossing this the issue of Interweave Knits I picked up from the newsagent today.  Sunday is traditionally our library day, I won’t be finished my novel by then, but am bound to find some other books to tempt me.  And then of course there is always my forums, blogs and Ravelry to keep me going during the day!

And, finally, while it’s not an obession as such, I usually enjoy cooking for the family. Tonight’s dinner was delicious: homemade hamburgers. The buns and patties were made from scratch, and the lettuce, tomato and cucumber were from the garden. Yummy!

picture-1849

4 Responses to “Other obsessions”


  1. 1 erin's artsy crafty side March 9, 2009 at 2:25 am

    The garden sounds like it’s doing well. Raised beds are heaven sent, I had them at one of the houses I rented, and they were superb. Loved the photos of all your veggies.

    The carrot cake looked yummy enough to eat. I love how you sprinkled the top with trail mix. I’ve never seen that before, but now that I have, I think it ought to have been there all along.

  2. 2 Casper March 9, 2009 at 9:05 am

    You’re making me hungry!!!

  3. 3 jennynz March 9, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Your garden is so cool! I have garden envy.

    I love the look of your homemade burgers – yummo!!!! oh and that cake, I think I put on weight just looking at it – droool!

  4. 4 nova March 9, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    *not worthy* you domestic goddess you! 😀


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

