Nearly FO: Clapotis

The weather here is definitely starting to cool off.  A blanket made its way onto our bed last night for the first time in months. I had to have a hot drink last night to make my hands warm enough for knitting. And today I got to wear knitwear on my top and my feet.  Ahhh, tis the season for knitters!

So the timing is right for a lovely scarf to warm myself up on chilly mornings (if I’m ever up and about that early!). And I have just such an item!  My Clapotis is blocking as I type. And, rather lazily, I started blocking it before the ends were sewn in. So, it’s a ‘nearly’ finished object rather than all done.

Now, it seems that this is a magical item. You take something that looks a bit like this…

picture-1860

 Or up close this…picture-1861

And just by blocking, transform it to this…

picture-1863

Close up…

picture-1864

This, of course, means one thing less on the needles, one step closer to a less foggy brain, and one step closer to being like all you virtuous readers who only have one WIP at a time. Not that it’s likely to happen here!

In other news, I have completed one other thing too – a toddler (2-3 years) sock, and have written the pattern up for testing by a couple of friends.  The second sock is on the needles now, and some refinement of the pattern is occuring – so it should be ready for unveiling next week 🙂 Here’s a teaser until then 🙂 (yep, the other bit is more interesting)picture-1856

6 Responses to “Nearly FO: Clapotis”


  1. 1 Joanne March 12, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Stunning Clapotis! What yarn did you use?

    Warm toes here in newly knitted socks too …. I think we have skipped autumn!

    • 2 shortly24 March 12, 2009 at 4:46 pm

      The Clapotis is done in one of my Yarn Swap yarns 🙂 It’s hand dyed 5ply Bluebell – when it’s all done I’ll write up the yarn/modifications etc to share 🙂

  2. 3 Kelly March 12, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    What a wonderful use of the yarn swap wool! WOuld love to make a clap-oh-tee one day 🙂

  3. 4 erin's artsy crafty side March 13, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Oh woah woah it’s magic…

    Seriously, I love these projects that turn into something completely different when you block them. Gorgeous.

    I love the colourway.

  4. 5 nova March 13, 2009 at 11:34 am

    wow if ever there was an example of why you (meaning I *blush*) should block stuff, it is that! what a transformation! love the colours too 🙂

  5. 6 hoaenz March 13, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    gosh that is fairly magic isn’t it!!!!! Looks FAB!


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

