Retro Bag

My lovely friend Annie had a birthday this week. What Ic all a ’round birthday’ – the once a decade kind… And she chose to bring her family to celebrate in our neck of the woods – she lives about 4 hours away. So, I wanted to make her something special for her big day.  After a bit of thought, I figured she could probably do with a knitting bag – who doesn’t love a knitting bag!

picture-1900

If the fabric looks familiar, that would be because I decided to try to make the present from stash.  Yep, that’s *more* leftover curtain fabric! Made entirely from curtain fabric, it’s huge – 14 inches high and wide, it’s got two big pockets inside, one lined with useful wee pockets to hold needles, yarn, scissors or whatever.  There is more than enough room for a big project as well as your purse, nappies or whatever else you need for a day out. It is all padded with my good old woollen blanket (again!) too.

picture-1901

Now, I made this without a pattern – not something I would recommend! I hit a few hurdles along the way, but got there in the end. The biggest laugh a watcher would have had would be when I was trying to work out how to put the inside and outsides together – I swear I tried it about 8 different ways before deciding I had it right.  Thank goodness I did!!

When it came to wrapping it up, I had a bit more time, so made some wee stitch markers (also from stash) and added some scrummy bamboo yarn and a delicious hand-made soap (not made by me, from a craft fair).

picture-1904

And then I discovered I had no birthday wrap and had to wrap the lot in Christmas paper. 

I had to laugh when we got together today and discovered her other pressie was also wrapped in Christmas wrap 🙂

We had an awesome lunch together, an afternoon chatting and playing with the kids, and then dinner together too. ‘Twas lovely to see you my friend. Happy Birthday 🙂

4 Responses to “Retro Bag”


  1. 1 charminglochie March 23, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    That is a lovely bag!! You are very talented to be able to sew like that without a pattern :o)

  2. 2 I March 24, 2009 at 5:31 am

    I love this! Perfect example of reusing to make something new!

  3. 3 niney March 28, 2009 at 2:18 am

    I love this bag! You are awesome. I really love the fabric. I think that’s the type of pattern I need to try to update our living room.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 338,651 hits

