Knitter’s Weekend

Much as I’d like to, I can’t post about the yarn I got delivered in the mail today – it’s a secret for a gift.

And I can’t show you the swap I sent away either – yep, another secret!

Both can be revealed in good  time.

But I can tell you about the flights I booked today! I’m going off to a knitter’s weekend! Thanks to GrabbaSeat, I grabbed some seats to go to Christchurch for the Knitter’s Weekend on the 15-17th May 🙂  It will double as a visit to the Grandparents too. But it will be just me and the girls going, as it is in term time. 

My lovely friend Christine had suggested the weekend back in Febuary and the flights were just too expensive to justify, but thanks to cheap flights, I’m going to be on my way!  

There are going to be workshops (which at $45 a pop will mean my yarn loving bubba won’t be allowed anywhere near!) and I have to decide which I want to attend. Am I brave enough for steeks? I’ve read Eunny’s brilliant instructions, but  I’m just not sure if steeking is for me.  I’d hate to ruin a garment! Other classes include several different sock options, some dyeing, and lace knitting. So much to choose from 🙂 

So I’m quite excited about the prospect of a weekend away to look forward to, surrounded by yarny goodness.  I guess I’ll need to save my pennies between now and then so that I can afford to pad my suitcase with some new finds.

They are also having some competitions – sock knitting ones! I’m tempted to do the ‘socks to dye for’ category – hand dyed yarn knit in an original pattern. They have to be done by May 11. So I need to find some time and inspiration between now and then!

0 Responses to “Knitter’s Weekend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

