When in Rome…

We all know the saying.  You’ve got to do what the Romans do, right? Well, I didn’t take off for Rome – I went to Christine’s place.  So, what to do when staying with Christine?

The girls and I ran (actually flew)  away on Wednesday to enjoy the company of good friends, and of course good knitting!  Well, to tell the truth I think the girls were oblivious to the knitting.  They enjoyed the company and the toys though!

I had to decide what knitting to pack  for our wee sojourn in the Capital.  I packed my Garter Yoke Cardigan, and a couple of skeins of sock yarn.  I left the Slinky Ribs at home – one sleeve is done now!  I had been fairly determined that I should knit up my second lot of sock club yarn before the third installment arrived. So when I saw Christine had cast on a pair of socks, I decided it was time to cast on for Theodora.

And by the time we went to bed on Saturday night, C’s socks were done, and I just had to cast off the second sock – call me a wimp, but my eyeballs were nearly hanging out of my head by that stage! I had just enough time to cast them off on Sunday morning and we donned our socks for a photo shoot before we went to the airport.

And here they are: Left – my Theodora Socks, and Right, C’s Plain Jane socks in Kafe Fasset Regian 4 ply yarn.

picture-1970

So – this is a finished object post despite the fact that I have only one sleeve between two sweaters currently on the needles 😀

Vital Statistics:
Yarn: Vintage Purls 4 ply sock yarn, Colourway Theodora, which is a limited edition yarn for the sock club. I used exactly 80 grams.

Needles: Knitpicks 80cm 2.5mm Harmony needles

Pattern: Theodora by Vintage Purls – knit toe up, with a more traditional construction than the previous sock club pattern.  The sock has a patterned panel down the front, but is stocking stitch behind – a really speedy knit. And cute too!

picture-1975

 Simple to memorise, it has an 8 row repeat, and you get to drop a stitch which is always fun (me, reliving the Clapotis experience already!). A close up:

picture-19831

picture-1985

There were some really cute details, such as the ribbing which flowed onto the front panel with some k2 p3 panels as well – a lovely touch.

And with the luck of the draw, I adore purples, so this colourway was great for me! Morag promised to post the third installment on the 30th, so I will have another gorgeous colourway and pattern to contemplate very soon.

 

picture-19821

3 Responses to “When in Rome…”


  1. 1 Amybel March 31, 2009 at 2:37 am

    That purple is so vivid! Looks great 🙂

  2. 2 Jo March 31, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Sounds like you had a fantastic time. Love the socks 🙂


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

