A taste of Wellington

Babies and preschoolers don’t make the best companions for knitting shopping, it’s true. But while in Wellington, I did manage to squeeze in some lovely visits to a couple of knitting establishments.

First Nancy’s on Thorndon Quay. It is mostly a quilting shop, but has a corner devoted to yarn and knitting supplies. I was able to fondle lots and lots of Noro yarns – they have an excellent range, and the colours are so beautiful in real life. I cuddled the sock yarn a bit, but at $40 I could hardly justify a skein. I also saw some Debbie Bliss yarn, and other goodies too.  Meanwhile the two preschoolers were – shock- running inside, so I quickly purchased the needles I had wanted, and departed. The needles were Knitpicks, having decided to try a 2.5mm 80cm nickle needle for sock knitting as I’ve managed to break two 3mm tips recently, and I am just not sure if I could cope if I broke my sock needles!

Next stop was Knitworld in Cuba Mall.  This is the new home of the Knitworld Studio, which has a special range of yarns including Rowan yarns, Jo Sharp, and some other goodies. I enjoyed flicking through their selection of books and magazines (fairy quickly, while the little miss admired their button selection). And, shock, I managed to leave without purchasing anything!

Final stop of our quick tour was Minerva. Not far from DH’s favourite record shops on Cuba Street, I can imagine this becoming a favourite shop 🙂 Minerva opened late last year, and has an amazing selection of books on textiles of all types: quilting, sewing, knitting, felting and so on. I have to admit that I was less than impressed with some knitting books: the first sock book I picked up was put down again soon after I saw the second pattern with pompoms on it. ?!! Other books were just as lovely as they had appeared online. But, being a good budget conscious girl, I only bought one book: another stitch dictionary.

I am loving the way it is laid out, as well as the awesome creativity of the patterns in it. I have several ideas for using some in the near future, but first I have a few projects I must finish!

By the time we left the shop it was apparent my lovely helpers had more than enough of the grand yarn tour of Wellington.  It was fun while it lasted!

3 Responses to “A taste of Wellington”


  1. 1 I April 1, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I concur, babies and preschoolers are not the best companions while visiting LYS.

  2. 2 Libby April 1, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Yes but as they grow up they get used to it! You are conditioning them for many LYS visits ahead & it is only fair to prepare them for such adventures. My kids are 8 & 10yrs and they know just how to behave when Mum is ‘yarn shopping’ – keep quiet, behave & it’ll be over quickly, I think we have it down to an art and works for all of us!!

  3. 3 Kelly April 1, 2009 at 11:33 am

    What a gorgeous book cover….just hints at delights within 🙂


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

