All Wrapped Up

A friend put me onto the idea of Magic Yarn Balls through a swap she was doing on Ravelry. What a fabulous idea! I haven’t read the book that the ‘pattern’ for these come from, Knitalong: Celebrating the Tradition of Knitting Together by Larissa Brown but as it states on the Ravelry pattern the basic idea is to use a ball of yarn to wrap up several small gifts.

So, with my friend Anthea’s birthday sneaking up on me, it seemed like a great quick project. This is what she got:

picture-1986

I used 100g of Naturally Sensations 10ply yarn (scrummy 70% merino, 30% angora blend) to wrap up a selection of gifts. That seems to be the most difficult part – tyring to *wrap* them.  I didn’t quite manage to completely cover the wee set of knitpicks tips so she spotted those right away. But she will have to work through the yarn in order to get to the other gifts within. And something inside rattles – just to keep her interest piqued!

I decided to title the gift “All wrapped up” because that’s what her gifts are! Although I wasn’t cruel (or ambitious) enough to wrap her chocolate inside – that was wrapped with the gift, for easy access.  I included a pattern for the “Birthday Cowl” which seemed perfect – a nice professional alternative to a scarf which she will be able to use for her job in the coming winter months.

I topped the ball with a ribbon and a cute knitted flower – but I have to admit it was purchased rather than crafted by me – one of a few in my trimmings stash that seems to come in handy.

In time I will have another Magic Yarn Ball to share with you – I’ve signed up for a swap on a forum I frequent. They have to be sent in April, so I’m on a deadline. This one needs to be hand-dyed, so it’s a great excuse to play with colours again! And in order to avoid the gifts poking through and being guessed, I might just wrap them *before* they get wrapped up with yarn. Oh, and next time I will remember to wind into a ball from skein using my swift. It takes a lot less time!

I think this a great gift for the knitter in your life – a little bit of challenge, an excuse for some selfish knitting, and a guarantee that they will knit up the yarn you gift them!

5 Responses to “All Wrapped Up”


  1. 1 Kelly April 2, 2009 at 8:29 am

    So how’s you other ball coming along hun 😉
    I think a MYB as a birthday gift is a fab idea….go you

  2. 2 nova April 3, 2009 at 9:48 am

    sounds lovely, what a fantastic gift!! 😀 can’t wait to see your next one too

    (*scream* how dare someone have a blog name so close to mine?! and she only beat me to blogging by two months.. and does much better knitting… lol)

  3. 3 hoaenz April 6, 2009 at 12:57 am

    I’ve been loving it!!
    The cowls almost knitted already – apparently even expert procrastinators like myself are steeled into action by these magic ball gifts ;->
    Have been waving it under everyones nose too and all (even total non-knitters) have decreed it a FABULOUS gift! THANK YOU!!!!!

  4. 4 shortly24 April 6, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Tis my pleasure. Great to hear that it’s spurred you on to do some ‘selish knitting’. This autumnal weather will no doubt be more cosy with a newly knitted cowl 🙂

  5. 5 nona of sav April 16, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Ooooh! So pretty! I’d love to get that as a gift!
    Love the flower embellishment, very pretty and what a great idea…may have to use that for my next gift-giving.

    (Nonaofsav on Ravelry)

    ~Vicki


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,564 hits

