FO: Garter Yoke Cardigan

The days are starting to get shorter, and Daylight Savings ends this weekend. Mornings are chilly and I need a cardigan or jersey on each morning and some evenings too, as well as the heater on in the mornings. So the timing couldn’t be better to *finally* finish my fourth sweater for the year. Well, a cardigan anyway.

Pattern: Garter Yoke Cardigan from Knit1

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted Merino in Purple Mystery colourway.

picture-1992

Despite the fact it’s been two months since I finished my last sweater, this one only took two weeks to knit. I must have an extremely high boredom threshold too – garter yoke, and then inches and inches of stocking stitch for the body, and then inches and inches and inches of stocking stitch in the round for the sleeves too.  But I did enjoy knitting this (maybe because I interspersed it with Slinky Ribs’ sleeve). And it is sooo cosy and comfortable to wear. DS11 seems to think me wearing it is an invitation for cuddles, and who am I to complain!

I had to knit the largest size in the pattern – that would be my one complaint about the pattern – the range of sizes was not large, as I am sure there are plenty of people out there with larger busts than me.

picture-1993

In terms of yarn use, I had to use about 10% of my sixth ball of Malabrigo to finish the second sleeve. I did, however, do an extra couple of inches on the body as I like a slightly longer top. And now I get to decide what else I could use the rest of the ball for. That is the end of my Malabrigo stash, and with the dollar still looking poorly against the US Dollar, I can’t imagine I will shout myself more any time soon.

Having completed the cardigan and blocked it yesterday, I went out button shopping this morning and was underwhelmed by the selection. However, buy I must and these will ‘do’ until I find something better, or will suffice long-term if need be.

 picture-1998

Mmmmmm, Malabrigo!!!!

6 Responses to “FO: Garter Yoke Cardigan”


  1. 1 SweetP April 4, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Lovely. You did so well to do this in 2 weeks – thats kind of motivating though. This is next up for me.

    Less than one skein will get you a cowl 😉

  2. 2 shortly24 April 4, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    So many things I could make – I spent a good hour trawling Ravelry and drooling over my options 🙂
    I think that you will love this pattern Gabes. So easy, but really flattering (I think). And it’s going to be great for winter – I think I need more cardigans and maybe some shrugs too.

  3. 3 Amybel April 5, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Wow, another speedy FO. You must lock your kids up or something (just kidding!)! Congrats, the purple looks good. I especially love the little hand in the first picture. A cute reminder that knitting, fast or slow, is still only our hobby and that the little ones need us so!

  4. 4 Judy April 5, 2009 at 5:22 am

    It looks lovely, sis! Mmmmmmmm

  5. 5 Kelly April 5, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Well done! It is only the start of April, so you are well on the way for your 12 items for NaKniSweMoDo 🙂
    You have a much higher ‘boredom’ threashold than I do, chook! (I’m so pleased you do though, as then I get to see lovely FO’s that in all honesty I will probably never knit myself due to the boredom factor….shame though, as the ‘plain’ ones are always the most beautiful imo).
    This cardy looks like it will be one very versatile piece 🙂

  6. 6 I April 7, 2009 at 4:31 am

    I wish I could knit anything in 2 weeks, none the less an adult sweater! Thanks for the info on the size, I’m a busty gal myself and found that comment helpful. 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

