Interweave Inspiration

Up until a month ago, I had never bought a knitting magazine.  But since then I’ve indulged in a few purchases, and have really enjoyed what is on offer.  On Saturday I bought the Interweave Knits Spring 2009 which has (finally) arrived at our local magazine shop. And it must have been a surface freighted copy as it was more than $7 cheaper than the Winter edition I bought last month (a ball of yarn worth! Shame!)

picture-1999

I’ve really enjoyed browing the patterns and have been impressed at the variety of projects – something for the blokes, shawls, lots of women’s knits in a variety of constructions, as well as interesting articles and ads for gorgeous (yet unattainable) things. Ahhh, bliss!

Of course, despite the fact that I *should* be knitting something else, I found myself casting on for Whisper (rav link) although now I notice, so has half of Ravelry. Ah well, at least we don’t all shop at the same supermarket. I wasn’t aiming to be trendy – but the simplicity of the design, and the fact I could use something from stash (ie – I was unable to stop myself) has meant that this project just couldn’t wait. I really do seem to need at least one mindless knitting project on the go, and therefore I will work on this as well as on the sweater I was meant to be knitting!

picture-20001

So, although we are heading into autumn here, this Spring edition is getting some use straight away. I also loved the Silk Cocoon Cardigan (but can’t wear cross-over tops without looking very dumpy), the Petal Halter (but again, alas haven’t the figure for it) and adore the Sweet Tee.  I still have not settled on a pattern for Dh’s promised winter knit  and although I like it,  I don’t think that Jeff’s Pub Sweater would be all that great for the classroom. So I’ll keep thinking about that. And knitting for myself in the meantime.

5 Responses to “Interweave Inspiration”


  1. 1 Judy April 7, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Yep, LOVE Interweave Knits. I also subscribe to the Vogue Knitting, the spring edition of which arrived today… Very inspiring. Whisper is also on my wish list to make, but alas I don’t have any suitable stash yarn…. Signed up for spindle spinning classes today BTW!

  2. 2 Casper April 7, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I might have to look out for a copy, I’ve never seen one

  3. 3 shortly24 April 7, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Nic, it is well worth the look! If you were closer you could borrow it – although I have heard of an alternative to carrier pidgeon called ‘mail’ that we could try 😉

    Ah, glad to hear you like the mag too sis, and that Whisper is tempting to you – very suitable for your climate, no doubt! Spindle spinning classes sound like fun – and decidedly like you don’t have too many wee helping hands around to stop you considering such a thing!

  4. 4 SweetP April 7, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    We are knitting mind twins. Whisper is RIGHT up there on my list. Do you get teh knitting daily emails? They had gallery pics last week and the Whisper looked great on all their models,went to the top of the list after that 😀

  5. 5 shortly24 April 7, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Ohh, that is scary!! But it’s so gorgeous, it’s no wonder 🙂 I get the emails, but often don’t read them. Totally lusting after the new Cookie A book they emailed about a couple of weeks ago though!


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

