FO: Sublime Teddy

From this…

picture-1786

To this…

picture-2020

You might recall back in February I frogged a baby hoodie that was outgrown. I wanted to harvest the yarn and put it to better use rather than pass on something that I wasn’t totally happy with, especially since it was made from Sublime yarn!  

I decided that I should make the teddy bear from Debbie Bliss’s Simply Baby for DD2. You might recall that she has somewhat of a yarn fetish. Well known for loving her blanket and fondling WIPs, she is always keen to nab off with my wool. So the nubbly texture of a garter stitch bear seemed just the thing. And can you get more sublime than Sublime?

And so, the hoodie was disassembled and bit by bit, the bear was knit. I hadn’t touched in about a month when I realised that with Easter nearly upon us, and with Miss nearly-10 months too small for chocolately treats, the bear would make an excellent Easter gift. So, I downed circs and upped sticks to finish the bear in time. Thanks to some excellent help from the girl herself (waking up before 6am every day this week…) I was able to sew the last of the limbs on early this morning.

I was thankful for stash stuff too! With all the shops closed today, it was great to have some black wool felt, embroidery thread, stuffing and a cute pink velvet ribbon so that I could add the finishing touches.

picture-2017

He seems to be destined for a life of love from Miss nearly 10 months…

picture-2016

and her sister…

picture-2021

(Please excuse the I-recently-ate-a-hot-cross-bun face and the hairdresser-thinks-my-fringe-was-cut-too-wide-so-I’m-growing-parts-out haircut!)

So, it seems that after all that work, I’m not done. It appears that one Sublime bear is one bear too few.

7 Responses to “FO: Sublime Teddy”


  1. 1 Kelly April 11, 2009 at 1:36 am

    That is one gorgeous gorgeous bear hun!

  2. 2 Judy April 11, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Adorable! And lookie at my nieces! You know I have a photo of Travis at a similar age pushing a very new looking Spicey in a similar trolley. Let’s hope Teddy holds up as well as Spicey to all the loving!

  3. 3 shortly24 April 11, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Aren’t they just too cute! And how did Miss R get so old so fast? Spicey is one resilient dog… let’s just hope Teddy gets that much love!

  4. 4 charminglochie April 11, 2009 at 10:10 am

    That bear is gorgeous. And your girls are too cute :o)

  5. 5 Cimorine April 14, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I ADORE the top-down sweaters! I’m making one myself! the sweater looks great on you, and I think the lace is wonderful too. good job!

  6. 6 Leeanne April 16, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Very cute teddy and how lovely that the little ones love him soo much. Wonder how long he will stay clean for…?

  7. 7 nova April 20, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    ohh every time i see that teddy i can just imagine how gorgeous he must be to hold! 😀


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

