FO: Liesl

picture-2035

I’ve had my eye on Ysolda’s pattern Liesl for some time now. Knit in 12 ply yarn, it was always going to be a quick knit – I think that lots of NaKniSweMoDo participants will make at least one Liesl this year 🙂  Of course I wasn’t motivated by the speed of the project (much!) But it is an extremely economical knit, my version knit for the 46 inch bust size took just 750m of yarn – a tiny bit over 10 balls of Shepherd 12 Ply 100% Lambswool Felted. The shade ‘106’ was one of two on sale at Knitworld in January and I bought 14 balls, intending to knit another Shalom. However the fact that I could knit the Liesl with sleeves meant that I changed plans for the yarn, and I’m glad I did. Another cardigan is going to be perfect for this autumn and beyond. And at $3 a ball, this meant a 100% wool cardigan finished for under $35.

Now, you would think that since I wasn’t trying to get DH to take photos in a public space, he could do an okay job, right? Wrong! Every single shot is on a funny angle… Can’t wait until my usual photographer (DS 11) is back home… at least he can point and shoot straight! And next time I’ll not wear a patterned t-shirt underneath either (Doh!)

 

picture-2033

 

That aside, I hope that you can see the beauty in this project. I adore the undulating line that the feather and fan lace pattern creates at the hemline. The pattern is great, giving lots of options: a high neckline, or the lower one I chose, button hole options  ( I am thinking of buying a fourth button though, it’s a wee bit gapey… and I think the garter stitch band will stretch to admit a button), and lots of different lengths.  It is knit top down in one piece, so no seaming is required – this has got to be my favourite sweater construction method! I chose to make mine with long sleeves, but I can see myself knitting another one later on with short sleeves. For the record, there are 20 lace repeats on the sleeve, just in case you’re knitting one and want to know how many you might need.

I was impressed with the pattern too. Ysolda is a young, independent designer who self-publishes her patterns. The layout and accuracy of her pattern was fantastic, and the photographs to illustrate the pattern were fabulous, I found that they were clear and helped me when I was struggling with the inital rows (silly me – obviously I should just read the pattern!). It was great to see the garment modelled in a size other than the smallest size too – very inspirational.  This particular pattern was cleverly designed with minimal counting and easy increases. No stitch markers or head scratching required (once I had the pattern sorted out). From cast on to cast off, it took 8 days – including time to knit and assemble a teddy bear and knit a sleeve and half a back of the Whisper cardigan. I think the fact I got gauge on 8mm needles might have had something to do with that though!

10 Responses to “FO: Liesl”


  1. 1 Amybel April 14, 2009 at 3:21 am

    I knew it! When you posted a few days ago about having a little more knitting time, I knew that something would just fly off your needles. And I agree about the nice wavy hemline. Congrats!

  2. 2 Judy April 14, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Lovely! I’m after some instant knitting gratification after finishing my Mary Jane yesterday (and, like you, DH is the only available photographer this week, so photos will have to wait until my friend gets back from vacation!)

  3. 3 shortly24 April 14, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Thanks 🙂 I guess I shouldn’t really keep secrets from you all… But it’s such a pleasure to have such a pleasant surprise for you. Can’t wait to see your Mary Jane sis! And I think you’d get heaps of wear out of a lighter Liesl – maybe a cotton or bamboo? You’ll have such a lovely selection there. In your stash.

  4. 4 Kelly April 14, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Love it, love it, love it 😀

  5. 5 Casper April 14, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    It’s gorgeous, I want to make me one now!

  6. 6 Beck April 14, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Very pretty, Sheryl!!! Go you! I cannot believe how much knitting you do!!

  7. 7 samsara April 16, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Lovely! I’m a regular reader of Ysolda’s blog and have even exchanged Christmas cards with her, and her patterns are always so pretty! It’s nice to see how different people interpret patterns with their own colour, yarns etc.

  8. 8 Marie April 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Looks good.

    My hubby can’t take good photos of me in my knitting either. Can’t wait until my DD (now 4) can hold the camera steady..

  9. 9 Jolynn April 16, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    I reeeeeaaalllly want to knit this! Yours is very pretty on you!

    Thanks for checking out my blog! ^_^

  10. 10 Sue April 17, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    This is gorgeous, I think I might have to find this pattern! And never let a grown man mess around with a camera, it’s just asking for trouble!


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

