My own private Everest

No, I haven’t gone mountain climbing. And, no, I didn’t discover a knitting pattern for a mountain.  But, I am still knitting the-same-never-ending-sweater.  Slinky Ribs.  And, like conquering that seemingly insurmountable mountain, it seems like finishing this sweater is going to take perserverance, and it will be worth it in the end.

picture-2043

Does this seem like a familiar refrain to you?

Well, I decided that there was nothing for it but to knit it and stick with it. Over the past few weeks I have completed the first sleeve and the neckband, leaving only one sleeve to go. One ball and a bit of yarn left. Only a couple of problems…

I knit and knit and knit around and around and around in 2×2 rib – which looks great. And last night, I ran out of yarn 1.5 inches from the end of the sleeve.  Argh!

And to be honest, the sweater neckline does not finish as low as I thought it would, so I had to finally admit that I had to knit the body longer too.

So, tonight I sit here, having finished the sleeves (finally!) but now with nearly another whole ball of yarn to complete the body to extend it further. If I were to do it again, I would have done more of the rib in the body rather than the stockingette. But to go back to that mountain allusion, I just don’t want to go back the mountain just to climb right back up.

picture-2042

We are heading off on a wee break tomorrow, with around 4 hours drive each way. So I hope that before I return I’ll be able to join my countryman  in being able to say “I knocked the bugger off”.

3 Responses to “My own private Everest”


  1. 1 Judy April 18, 2009 at 4:05 am

    The colour in this looks way different from the other pics you’ve posted… which is more correct?

    You can DOOOOO eeettttt!

  2. 2 shortly24 April 18, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Red not orange (thank goodness!) Took the pics at night thus the orange effect 🙂

  3. 3 Sue April 18, 2009 at 10:29 am

    You poor thing, there’s nothing worse than finishing something and then realising you need to rework it. Good luck with it!


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

