A little bit of Magic

I have had my little bit of magic arrive in the post 🙂  You might recall a few weeks ago, I made a magic yarn ball for my friend’s birthday. And I mentioned that I was in a magic yarn ball swap. Weeeell, mine arrived! 

Here ’tis:

picture-2080

The theme is Lemons. I received 100g of Wool Company 4 ply yarn dyed in shades of yellow, and a suggested pattern of some “Fruit Salad Mom and Baby Socks”. Not sure on the pattern, I think socks would be nice and cheerful in this yarn, but I might contemplate the pattern for a bit.

But I can’t put it off forever, because, hidden inside the yarn are some goodies. I can see wee hints at them through the ball… I think I spy some beads – maybe some stitch markers? But beyond that, I have *no* idea – and I’ve got not a clue who sent to me either!

picture-2082

Now, here’s the bit where I admit, I lied through my teeth a few weeks ago when I said I had yet to make my swap ball. To be honest, I’d already made and sent it before I posted – but my swapee had (and has) no idea. I think it’s about time to put her out of her misery.

So, this is what I made – 100g of Patonyle 4ply sock yarn, dyed in acid dyes – browns, oranges and pinks, to go with my theme.

picture-1965

I based the ball around a theme of “The Four Elements” and drew the colours of the yarn around earth and fire, and the gifts also fit into these colours, as well as air and water – you can’t see the lining of the sock project bag, but it’s fully reversable with a blue inner. And the beads that make up the stitch markers were called “earth”. Cool eh! My wee blurb said that the ancients believed that everything in the world was made up of the 4 elements, but that they had clearly missed a few. The gifts would show her what the other elements were. And they are: coffee, chocolate and yarn. My giftee makes her socks two at a time, so had to unwind her yarn into two balls in order to knit it- good plan, eh!  I don’t think I will follow suit though, I’ll just need to be patient.

I was totally in love with the coffee cup – can you see, it has a picture on knitting on it? How cool! But darned hard to wrap yarn all around. I had heaps of fun, and it was such a delight to be there when Christine opened it – even if she didn’t know it was from me. Or did she? If she did, she’s a very good actress.  Glad you like it C!

5 Responses to “A little bit of Magic”


  1. 1 SweetP April 23, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    They are both incredibly awesome packages!!!! Great idea x

    I bought one of those mugs for Mum for mothers day

  2. 2 Kelly April 23, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Your Auckland sender will be pleased you liked it 😉
    I heartily agree – yellow socks will be fabbo!

  3. 3 vanjeffery April 24, 2009 at 9:53 am

    It couldn’t have been you! It wasn’t your writing on the package!!! You sly thing.

    Yes, I LUFFS it!

    Jeez, should have guessed you to start with, now that I think about how the project bag was constructed, and the scrapbooking bits.

    Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!

    xoxox

  4. 4 shortly24 April 24, 2009 at 10:39 am

    😀

    I aim to please 🙂

    And I know you like a good mystery 😉


  1. 1 Knitting in the dark « Shortly Stitches Trackback on August 12, 2009 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 339,087 hits

