FO: Slinky Ribs

Yes! It’s done!

picture-2083

My Slinky Ribs has been on the needles since mid-February I guess, so it’s wonderful to have it finished. The weather is starting to cool down, so this will be worn a lot this autumn and winter.

The yarn is a Merino/Possum blend and so incredibly light – 160metres per 50 grams, at a DK weight. The strands were quite thin for DK I thought, but it’s knit up quite nicely.

 

picture-2091

 

The other thing that I loved was the fact that the sleeves grew by a couple of inches when I blocked it – I thought I had knit them the right length, and then they looked far too short! See…

picture-2068

I’ve already mentioned the placement of the rib detail in earlier posts – it is much too high up, and it wasn’t until the sleeves went in that I realised this. That was a big disappointment, but I think that it is okay as is. Just not as cute as the pattern.

Despite the forever that this took to knit, I do love it. The yarn makes it so light and snuggly at the same time. It is a nice sweater to wear, and will be versatile. I would definitely consider making another one – with cap sleeves though!

Pattern: Slinky Ribs from Wendy Bernard’s Custom Knits

Yarn: Merino Possum blend from Weft Industries, colourway Red Marl. I weighed the finished garment, and it’s 262g, so it’s not quite 6 balls of yarn. I was gifted 3 of these and purchased the rest. Miraculously, I found more in the same dye lot.

Buttons: ended up being from stash:)

Needles: 4mm and3.25mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeables.

Thinking back, I think that this was intended to be my fourth sweater of the year, but instead, it’s number six.  Ah well, better late than never, eh!

7 Responses to “FO: Slinky Ribs”


  1. 1 Judy April 24, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Awesome! Well done!

  2. 2 Heather April 24, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    It’s turned out lovely. Great job!

  3. 3 Amybel April 25, 2009 at 2:29 am

    I like it, and good thing about the sleeves growing! So six down, is that four more to go? How much longer do you have to do them?

  4. 4 Delwyn April 25, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Nice to see your pretty face this time!

    Love the colour, looks like so much hard work knitting though.

    D

  5. 5 neak April 25, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    WOW well done!!! it looks awesome on!

  6. 6 Jo April 25, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    WOW that’s really lovely, great job

  7. 7 Leeanne April 30, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Your top looks lovely, not to be rude but it’s nice to see nice knits for women who arent stick insects.

    The bears you knitted are just adorable.

    Found you on ravelry.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

