The Colour Yellow

I don’t have anything against the colour yellow. But if I wear it, it makes me look really ill. So, when it comes to knitting, I don’t do yellow scarves, or sweaters or hats. So, not a lot of yellow knitting goes on around here.

Why is this a problem, you might ask?

Well, back in January, our national knitting shop chain had a sale. And in their inimitable way, they discounted only a few colours of each chosen yarn, leaving the rest at regular retail prices. And the gorgeous yarn Merino Et Soie was discounted, at well less than half the retail price. But – you guessed it – only in yellow. Sigh.

I took a punt and bought 15 balls of their DK weight yarn, planning to dye it.

Here’s how it went:

picture-1710

picture-1711

Once the yarn was soaked, I used my delicious Shamrock acid dye to make a semi-solid green yarn.

picture-1714

After this last photo was taken, I wound the skein on itself and immersed it in the dye pot to get a bit more depth to the colour.

picture-1718

In February, I began knitting this up in an ill-fated project. But it’s back on the needles again now. Just call me an attention deficit knitter – yep, the ribbing  on the Whisper Cardigan is taking so long I had to cast on another project.

I think this is a huge improvement on the colour I started with. Not that I dislike the colour yellow.

3 Responses to “The Colour Yellow”


  1. 1 Amybel May 1, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I am so envious of you. I have some boring yarn just dying to be green. Ok, enough of the puns. But really it’s gorgeous and I think it’s cool that you took the plunge (sorry, I just couldn’t resist)! OMG I love this color!

  2. 2 I May 6, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Huh. I never thought to dye a yarn I didn’t like into something else. The yarn has much more definition now, and I like the way it’s knitting up in the sweater.

  3. 3 neak May 20, 2009 at 12:34 am

    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I love the green! nice swift too 😉 😛


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

