Mother’s Day Swap

Things have been crazy around here the last few days.  Ear infections, overnight guests and a trip to Auckland for my block course at Uni… and I had a swap to get off for Mother’s Day as well! We had agreed to send them by last weekend so no-one missed out on having a gift to open for their special day.  Saturday came and went without my gift finished – in fact, it wasn’t finished blocking until Tuesday afternoon – gulp! And then I had a wee disagreement with the woman at the post shop who said if I wanted ‘FastPost’ I would have to buy her expensive packaging and repack the parcel. So it went slow post… but arrived on time.

This is what I sent:

 The knittted gift is a scarf size Clapotis knit in Wool Company Watermelon, an 8ply yarn. My giftee loves pink and green, so I hope she likes the colourway.   I knit only four repeats of the increase and decrease section (the pattern has 7 repeats) to make it a bit smaller width-wise. And it was knit on 4mm needles – same needles as the one I made for myself!  It turned out about the same size as my one, but I didn’t really have time for more than a quick picture before wrapping it up.  And of course it was accompanied by some naughty treats – some special chocolates, fudge, and a cute woven bag.  The colour is much better in the first picture, but here’s the requiste self-portrait-in-bathroom-mirror shot 🙂Picture 2123

In the meantime, I had an exciting looking parcel arrive at my house! I’m sure the return address was a ruse, so I’m not sure who to thank for my beautiful gift.  We had all agreed to open the presents on Sunday and post pics of them – we were away for the weekend, and I left mine here as it was a bit big to haul away with us, so when we were finally home at 11.30 last night, and once the children were deposited in their beds (Miss 2.8 was rather surprised to find herself still in her clothes this morning!), I opened up my parcel to find a rather humbling treat.

Picture 2146

I got a lovely pair of  (home made, I presume?) wooden sock blockers made out of plywood and varnished, a gorgeous skein of hand dyed sock yarn, and some beautiful home made Wool Wash. And decorating the container was a wee set of sock-knitting stitch markers too.

Picture 2147

The yarn is 100g of Patonyle, dyed in shades of green and purple, called “Peacock Suprise” – I totally adore this colourway, and of course am thinking of what pattern I’d like to knit it up as.

This was the coolest swap to particpate in. It was awesome to see my friends getting spoiled too. I got a quick “Happy Mother’s Day” from the two biggest kids, and that was it… so having a special treat to celebrate the day was the best idea.

6 Responses to “Mother’s Day Swap”


  1. 1 Judy May 11, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Darn; you’re knocking my b’day pressie ideas sideways with your DH’s book choices & the sock blockers. Back to the drawing board! Love both the gift you sent & the one you received. The colorway is awesome!

  2. 2 Heather May 11, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Well belated Happy Mum’s Day to you. Glad to hear the family is feeling a little better. What a fantastic gift you sent. The scarf is beautiful. And your surprise gift is really lovely. Can’t wait to see what you create with your pretty yarn.

  3. 3 Jo May 11, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Cool gifts, love all of it, especially the wooden sock blockers and the yarn you received, very yummy colours. The Clapotis you knitted looks fantastic in Watermelon. I too can’t wait to see your pretty yarn knitted up

  4. 4 nova May 12, 2009 at 10:01 am

    do you have any idea how long it would take some of us to knit that scarf?! so you toss that humble pie into the compost m’dear! both gifts are totally awesome!! 😀

  5. 5 shortly24 May 12, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Thanks 🙂 It was fun to knit the Clapotis a second time – I used the idea of purling the stitch before and after the stitch you drop, thus doing away with the stitch markers. An idea I picked up on Ravelry – not my own genius – but genuis nonetheless. I do hope my giftee likes it!

  6. 6 neak May 20, 2009 at 12:30 am

    😉 now that you guessed lol so glad tat you love everything in your gift 🙂


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

