Cold Snap

When we woke up on Monday it was cold.  Really cold.  And it stayed cold all day.  When the clouds lifted on Tuesday, this was the view (from our front yard).

Picture 2153

This was the first dump of snow for the year, and it’s a big one – I can’t remember the last time the ranges had snow on them, and they have a decent coverage on the top.

All of this has made me very glad to be a knitter. And made me even more obsessed with sock knitting. Which is just as well, as this is what arrived in my letter box over the last week….

Picture 2126

At the back is some Noro Kureyon sock yarn, front is Arucania Ranco Multy, both are 4 ply sock yarns.

Picture 2127

And a super bargain from Fyberspates in the UK, 5 skeins of DK sock yarn which worked out at $60 including postage, arriving in less than a week – gotta love Royal Mail!  The one on the far left is earmarked for a pair of socks for DH, the green next to it is gorgeous IRL this pic doesn’t do it justice, and is probably my favourite, although the plums and reds is lovely too 🙂 

With all of this lovely yarn tempting me, I’ve been knitting away, and I will finish my Whisper Cardigan very soon, and then I think I’ll knit a couple of pairs of socks so that I’m prepared for the weather.

3 Responses to “Cold Snap”


  1. 1 Heather May 14, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    The view from your front yard is beautiful. And that is some snow. Holy Geez! Seeing that would definitely inspire one to knit warm snugglies.

    Your yarns are so yummy. I wish I would knit both of pairs of socks, but I have the dreaded disease of Onesockitis (sigh).

  2. 2 Jo May 14, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    What a lovely view, and that yarn, holy moly I want to snuggle into it, lucky you 🙂


  1. 1 Beret Giveaway Day « Shortly Stitches Trackback on May 17, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

