FO: Whisper Cardigan

Picture 2162 NaKniSweMoDo #7 is complete.

When my Spring Interweave Knits was purchased, we were enjoying warm autumn days, so the delightfully airy Whisper Cardigan appealed to me. I thought it would be great for spring and autumn.  I got mired a couple of times on this project though, so now that it’s finished, it’s much too cold to wear it!  Yup, we are in the middle of another cold snap!

So, excuse the lack of modelled pics please, I just couldn’t bring myself to take off my long-sleeved merino top to take pics! I’ll update you with pics later.

Anyway, the pattern is Whisper Cardigan. I knit it in sock yarn – some black Patonyle, which is 80% wool, 20% nylon. It was intended to be from stash, but the reality is this… it took about 220g, and, well, I picked up a bit more black at sale prices in Christchurch last weekend, so I now have another 180g of the same yarn in my stash. Oops!

The good bits: it’s an easy pattern, casting on in the round on one sleeve, decreasing every 8 rows, then going onto straight needles across the shoulders like a shrug before going back to the round for the second arm. Then you pick up the stitches for the ribbed section, and finally cast off the collar, and continue on the lower body stitches. You increase to create the drapey bits at the front.  Very cool pattern, and not too boring to knit.

But the bad bits… a couple of weeks ago, DH got all excited about cleaning his computer desk, and somehow in the melee, a huge (10cm or bigger) pull emerged in my unfinished Whisper.  It was made worse by the loose weave – this is 4 ply knit on 4.5mm needles after all! I spent at least 2 hours trying to fix it gently tugging this way and that, with various implements – knitting needle, crochet hook etc. I sought help on Ravelry, read articles on Knitty, and ultimately ended up cutting it in half and kitchener grafting it back together (the pull was on the straight part of the back). And to be honest, it was hard to get it to look great. It’s acceptable, but not much better 😦  The other part that was difficult was the motivation to knit 3 inches of 1×1 rib with rounds of 300 stitches plus. But that’s just lazy old me!

Despite all of this, and my disinclination to model it, I do like both the pattern and the finished garment. I chose black because I wear a lot of black, and I think this will get lots of wear when I head back to work. I would love to knit another in brighter colours. Perhaps when the weather warms up.

2 Responses to “FO: Whisper Cardigan”


  1. 1 SweetP May 21, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Lovely! I think I’m going to do a black one too. I hate knitting with black though :S Lighting in our lounge is hopeless.

    It looks great, I hope you wont keep us waiting too long for a modelled shot 🙂


  1. 1 In love with lace weight « Shortly Stitches Trackback on November 8, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

