Archive for June 3rd, 2009

Little Things

I cast off and blocked my NaKniSweMoDo #8 earlier this week – photos etc to come – and I haven’t cast on another sweater to knit. I’ve decided to take a break from knitting big things for a while. I have quite the list of things that need knitting, and and equally long list of things that I want to knit. So, expect a flurry of FO posts over the next wee while.

And here’s the first of them.

Picture 2228

Miss 11 months celebrates her first birthday in less than two weeks.  I can’t really justify buying her a new outfit – she still fits size 6-12 month clothing and has lots of lovely things to grow into as well. But a new handknit, well of course!

From diving into the stash on Sunday night, and gave Dh three colour choices.  So, blame him if you don’t like the combo! I completed most the knitting by Monday afternoon. The pattern has a cute lace trim in to match the bodice contrast, but I used all 50 grams for the bodice. So, I went shopping Tuesday morning only to discover neither shop that stocks the right yarn had any. Sigh.

So, back to the drawing board. I decided to do a picot cast off – I worked two increase stitches and 4 cast off stitches. Bah, it took a whole hour to do it!  Just as well it’s cute 🙂

Picture 2226

So, vital statistics:

Pattern: Kaia Babydoll from my lovely friend Rachel over at Crafty Wee Wifey.

Size: 9 months. I think that it’s a bit big even so. Shoulders are a bit roomy.

Yarns: 50g Cleckheaton Country

60g (at a guess) of The Wool Company Utiku Perendale Multicolours in colourway Sunset

Needles: 6mm for top (Dk weight yarn held double) and 4mm for the body. I used my Knitpicks Harmonys for the bodice and addi 40cm circ for the body.

Picture 2233

Love this pattern – one of the other colour combinations I had picked out will be getting knit up too.  And I am contemplating a third one as a baby gift as well. You can’t get too much of a good thing, eh!

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,341 hits