Archive for June 6th, 2009

FO: Noro Socks

A week or so ago I blogged about the lovely Wendy Knits book I got for my birthday and showed you the plain gusset heel sock I had completed from my first pattern in it.  Now, I totally deny that I have the dreaded “SSS” or second sock syndrome. Totally deny it.  The reason I have three  four socks without partners sitting here has nothing to do with any difficulty or lack of motivation in knitting them a partner.  No, I totally blame all the gorgeous yarn and patterns in my stash that keep calling to me. If anything is to blame for my socks not having partners, it’s cast-on-itis, not SSS!  I’d happily knit them a partner if I had the time…

That said, since I’ve decided to take a break from sweater knitting for a while, it seemed like the perfect time to catch up on those second socks. First to make the cut was my Noro socks. Even though they’ve been waiting the shortest length of time… But I was curious about how the stripes would turn out, and because they were a plain knit, I could knit them while reading – I like to have a project I can pick up and knit while studying.

So, without further ado… here they are 🙂

Picture 2258

For those who love matchy-matchy, this is not the pair of socks for you! I always knew they would be ‘fraternal twins’, and it’s interesting to see how the combinations of colours worked together as they changed.

Picture 2262

In terms of a pattern review, the pattern is simple, well tech edited, and accurate. Knit from the toe up (the book’s title “Socks from the Toe Up” gives you a good clue there), it has a wide toe, and is quite roomy in the foot. I found the gusset heel quite an unusual construction, as it has no heel flap. There is no ‘heel turn’, and gusset flap goes up the back where a heel flap would be:Picture 2261

The Noro Kureyon sock yarn was a good buy from an Australian supplier.  I like not paying Aussie sales tax… I was a little hesitant about buying it though, as the yarn has the typical Noro feel – far from soft. But on it is not scratchy at all, and the socks are very comfortable. The other issue I have had with Noro yarn in the past is really long variegations which can be difficult to manage if you are matching balls. But because this was a one ball wonder I could sit back and relax. The yarn was alarmingly thin in places, so I will be closely watching how these wear.

I knit the socks using four row stripes, which I think is quite cute. I didn’t bother with jogless jogging, instead changing balls at the side of the sock. The result was still fairly neat.Picture 2259

Overall, I’m really pleased with these socks. They are simple and cheerful and I’m sure that I will love wearing them.

I’m hoping that I will equally love the other pairs of socks I’m determined to finish soon too!

Picture 2257

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,341 hits