FO: Noro Socks

A week or so ago I blogged about the lovely Wendy Knits book I got for my birthday and showed you the plain gusset heel sock I had completed from my first pattern in it.  Now, I totally deny that I have the dreaded “SSS” or second sock syndrome. Totally deny it.  The reason I have three  four socks without partners sitting here has nothing to do with any difficulty or lack of motivation in knitting them a partner.  No, I totally blame all the gorgeous yarn and patterns in my stash that keep calling to me. If anything is to blame for my socks not having partners, it’s cast-on-itis, not SSS!  I’d happily knit them a partner if I had the time…

That said, since I’ve decided to take a break from sweater knitting for a while, it seemed like the perfect time to catch up on those second socks. First to make the cut was my Noro socks. Even though they’ve been waiting the shortest length of time… But I was curious about how the stripes would turn out, and because they were a plain knit, I could knit them while reading – I like to have a project I can pick up and knit while studying.

So, without further ado… here they are 🙂

Picture 2258

For those who love matchy-matchy, this is not the pair of socks for you! I always knew they would be ‘fraternal twins’, and it’s interesting to see how the combinations of colours worked together as they changed.

Picture 2262

In terms of a pattern review, the pattern is simple, well tech edited, and accurate. Knit from the toe up (the book’s title “Socks from the Toe Up” gives you a good clue there), it has a wide toe, and is quite roomy in the foot. I found the gusset heel quite an unusual construction, as it has no heel flap. There is no ‘heel turn’, and gusset flap goes up the back where a heel flap would be:Picture 2261

The Noro Kureyon sock yarn was a good buy from an Australian supplier.  I like not paying Aussie sales tax… I was a little hesitant about buying it though, as the yarn has the typical Noro feel – far from soft. But on it is not scratchy at all, and the socks are very comfortable. The other issue I have had with Noro yarn in the past is really long variegations which can be difficult to manage if you are matching balls. But because this was a one ball wonder I could sit back and relax. The yarn was alarmingly thin in places, so I will be closely watching how these wear.

I knit the socks using four row stripes, which I think is quite cute. I didn’t bother with jogless jogging, instead changing balls at the side of the sock. The result was still fairly neat.Picture 2259

Overall, I’m really pleased with these socks. They are simple and cheerful and I’m sure that I will love wearing them.

I’m hoping that I will equally love the other pairs of socks I’m determined to finish soon too!

Picture 2257

7 Responses to “FO: Noro Socks”


  1. 1 Judy June 7, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Cute, but would drive me crazy. I’m a matchy girl!

  2. 2 Flo June 7, 2009 at 8:01 am

    I love it! Nothing in life is exactly the same on either side!! A friend of mine converted me to that kind of thinking when she started making (and successfully selling here in Hawaii) raku beads that she created herself – and one earring would be a ball, and the other side would be a boxy looking bead! Just like noro yarns! One of my favorite yarns! Thank you for sharing.

  3. 3 Amybel June 7, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I’m a symmetrical kind of person, so the yarn wouldn’t work for me. But I’ve been leery of socks because of the “heel flap” and “turning the heel” and wrapping stitches all that mumbo jumbo. Maybe this pattern would work for me?!

  4. 4 beck June 10, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Love them!

    I bought a ball of this yarn to knit a scarf…… 2 feet in and i’m gonna frog it. i haaaate the colours (different colourway to yours)…. This has inspired me to try it in a stripe sock… One day! Haha! Will get back to soft VP for now.

  5. 5 shortly24 June 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Thanks for the comments.

    Amybel, yes, I think this could be the pattern for you! A good basic, and it would get you familiar with sock construction, so when you came across the other things, they’d just be a new step rather than a hurdle 🙂

    Beck, glad that you’ve got some new ideas, what a disappoinment for you! I discovered on Rav, when you look at the yarn, if you go to projects and enter the colourway/number in the advanced search, you can see how it looks knitted up. This is how I decided on what colourway to buy 🙂 Might help you in the future, although it only works for online shopping!

  6. 6 Krista June 19, 2009 at 7:33 am

    ohhhh!!!! These are PERFECT!!!! Matching socks are so 2008! I am currently working on a noro two row scarf (to distract me from the unbearably ugly sock fiasco) If I weren’t on a strict yarn diet I would be running to my LYS for some noro sock yarn to make these! Will power…must have will power.

    • 7 shortly24 June 19, 2009 at 8:13 am

      Thanks 🙂 Your scarf sounds cute (how many balls does it take, she wonders…) can’t wait to see the finished result 😉

      Yes, will power is difficult, but hey, Noro will still be in the shop when your yarn diet restriction are over.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

