FO: Socks and more

I am loving all of this finishing! Another pair of socks are complete πŸ™‚

Picture 2266

These are the socks I began back in the last holidays when we went away visiting. The first sock wasn’t the biggest success ever, so it made it difficult to want to knit the second one. The pattern is Staccato Socks from KnittingΒ  Socks with Handpainted Yarn. The pattern uses stripes of colour to utilise the waves the stitch pattern makes to its best advantage. I didn’t have stripes with me when I cast on, but maybe it I had it would have distracted from the unattractive way the sock seems to pull on the plain stocking stitch panel between the patterned panels. To rectify this I knit the second sock on a larger needle (2.25 for the first, 2.5 for the second). It seemed a little wrong to do so, but given the stripy socks I just knitted, I think I should get over the need to ‘match ‘ things, especially if I’m trying to match something ugly! I am much happier with the second sock!

These socks are knit from the toe up, and had an unusual gusset construction (well, it was new to me anyway!) but it resulted in a very well fitting foot. I’ve been finding socks knit from the toe up are always too long on me if I use the measurements provided. These were perfect. The heel is a slip stitch heel, which I really like the look of.

Picture 2268

I enjoyed knitting with Vintage Purls yarn again – this colourway is JOY, exclusive to Joy Of Yarn. I knit a fairly short leg, so I have about 35 grams of this yarn left, enough for a pair of toddler socks anyway πŸ™‚

Now, Nyree is hanging out for a picture of my latest FO, so it is squeezing in here too. This is a newly released pattern, MiloΒ (Rav link). Written by the ever clever Tikki, I resisted buying it for, ohhh, 36 hours. This cute vest pattern has sizes from newborn through to 4 years, and is beautifully unisex. The perfect pattern for gift knitting! So, my first blast at the pattern was a 3 month size.

Picture 2271

Knit from stashed yarn, this is Utiku DK Donkey. I usually like knitting with this yarn, but this small vest had 5 joins in the yarn! Shocking. Just as well it’s a cute colourway. I hope the wee recipient of this fits it πŸ™‚

The pattern has 5 options for cables, I chose the ‘giant cable’ option which I like but it didn’t allow for many repeats in the length of the 3 month size vest. Nevertheless it’s cute I think, and I will be using this option again when I knit a bigger size.

Picture 2274

I love the fact that this pattern will be able to be knit for my girls as well as newborn gifts. It’s such a quick and satisfying knit. Highly recommend this one πŸ™‚

8 Responses to “FO: Socks and more”


  1. 1 Jo June 11, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Loving those socks and that vest is just the cutest. Haven’t got my pattern yet, will probably get it next week πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Heather June 12, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Another FO! Holy stitches KnitWoman!! The socks are great. The heel is interesting and I like the look of it. The wee vest is just tooooo cute. The idea of the pattern offering cable options is great. I’m sure the wee wearer will feel extra special in this vest.

  3. 3 Kelly June 12, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Oooh, more socks you clever chook!
    I’m a MILO lover too. You know it makes a great baby singlet if you knit the newborn size following the pattern but with these mods: Do a twisted german CO, Knit in 4ply instead of 8ply (still use 4mm needles), and omit the cable panel πŸ˜‰

  4. 4 Melissa Mclellan June 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Ohhh that vest is sooo cute

  5. 5 SweetP June 13, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Hey S, I tagged you for a meme if you are keen πŸ˜€

  6. 6 Heather June 15, 2009 at 7:29 am

    I think you and your hubby got the best present with this wee one. She is just adorable! And she look very stylish in her new Milo. Belated happy happy to your sweet 1 year old.

  7. 7 Clare June 18, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    The Milo is just the best. Sam has been wearing it everyday since you gave it to him! Thanks so much


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

