Archive for June 15th, 2009

FO: Fargyles

In a fit of enthusiasm in January, I cast on a pair of Fargyles socks from Knitty’s Winter 2008 issue. I had scored some free yarn from Mum – thanks Mum, so it seemed like perfect timing. Oh, except it was the height of summer, and these are DK weight socks. Maybe not such a good idea! One sock got knit, the other eventually was cast on and abandoned. 

My friend Gabes suggested that June be a month to finish up all our unfinished WIPs. She, too, had a single Fargyle sock. Now, given it is winter here, the timing seemed perfect to finish up this project.

And, so I present to you, not one, but two completed Fargyle socks!

Picture 2373

Now, as I mentioned, this was free yarn. It is a 100% Wool of undetermined origin. I distinctly remember purchasing this yarn when I was a teen – along with a cool varigated pink, this became a cardigan which I knit. It was only fitting that Mum hand it back to me in an effort to destash. I wasn’t too sure about it at times, but these are supercomfy socks, so I am pleased I made the effort to complete this pair of socks.

The pattern is free too – the concept of Fargyles is ‘fake argyle’ and it alternates knit and purl diamonds teamed with cabled diamond shapes. Cute – but definitely more of a pattern watcher than I need with little ones around demanding to play “ta” with my yarn.  Still it was an easy enough knit, mostly intuitive, and the end result is a cute and wearable pair of very cosy socks.

Picture 2376

It was nice to find some quiet moments to sit and knit amongst the chaos of a birthday weekend. When MIL asked what I was knitting, I reminsced about knitting the other sock when we had all been on holiday together six months ago in Wainui. It seemed somehow fitting that they were finished this weekend after all this time.

Picture 2372small

And DH was even keen to take photos for once – any ideas why?

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,341 hits