Beautiful, beautiful yarn

A few friends on a forum I belong to have ‘fessed up recently about being addicted to shopping.  Now, I am not guilty of any such thing – I only spend money that I have. But I am guilty of buying yarn that I don’t need right now, and thus my stash is suffering from, erm, slightly overstuffed syndrome.  Much as I try, I can no longer fit it into the allotted two 45 litre bins (and one pretty cane basket in my room to ogle).  Part of the problem is that I stashed up large in January after I signed up for NaKniSweMoDo. Sales we on, I knew what lay ahead, and I took advantage of that. I have at least 6 more sweater sized lots waiting for me to knit up, and this all takes up space. So, I hereby swear not to buy any more yarn until I have finished knitting up my Winter Sock Club yarns.

You see, despite the aforementioned yarn issues, I went ahead and signed up for Vintage Purls Winter Sock Club. Yes, I *know* I haven’t even knit up the last of the summer ones yet. Yes, I *know* I’ve got a number of beautiful skeins of yarn and three books of patterns. But, well, I had the money set aside, and I’m not so good with temptation. 

My first installment arrived late last week…

Picture 2360

I can see now that the placement of the yarn makes the sock pattern hard to see – it’s an interesting ribbed sock with the gusset at the front of the sock (!). I have cast on the first of these and am almost ready to begin gusset increases. But I’m alternating this with another Milo vest, this time for Miss 2.9.

Picture 2361

The colours are an interesting combo of purples, from violet to lavender, and some rusty coloured browns. 

And we got cute goodies too. Love the fabric badges.

 

 

Picture 2362

Cute eh!

So, I *will* knit up these, and each of the following two installments before I buy any more yarn. I promise. In fact, I will even do the last of the summer ones before I buy more yarn.

Did I mention that my sister is in America right now with a big bag of yarn to bring home to me? Actually I’ve only bought six skeins, but when I get them it will be like buying yarn all over again, without breaking my buying ban. Clever, eh!

5 Responses to “Beautiful, beautiful yarn”


  1. 1 Jo June 17, 2009 at 11:13 am

    haha, let’s see how you go. Will the temptation of more yarny goodness be too much. Love those colours in that sock yarn too, I can see myself signing up for them if I ever get around to actually trying to knit a pair myself. Maybe I shouldn’t!

  2. 2 Julie June 17, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Somebody really should have told me about the yarn addiction before I started knitting!!! At least you are a super speedy knitter so can justify all your yarn. I am a super slow knitter and can certainly not justify my ever growing yarn stash!!!! Of course yummy free yarn doesn’t count. Love your Milo vests, 3 friends have just had babies and they are all getting a Milo. Eventually…..

  3. 3 Judy June 17, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Yeah, six plus some surprises! Ha! Oh, and I convinced her to buy on your behalf a perfect t-shirt for your husband; husbands are always hard to buy for!

    Hope your yarn buying ban goes better than mine.

    Might be time to think about spinning. Totally different stash, remember?

  4. 4 Libby June 18, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Yarn buying so a lot of fun and if you compare it to other things that people spend their money on (like alcohol or takeaway foods etc) – I think it’s a pretty healthy habit, as far as vices go. I mean eventually we end up with something practical that can be worn.

  5. 5 shortly24 June 18, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I can see the lot of you like to be enablers lol. My sister especially (surprise!) – spinning? I really *don’t* need another stash right now! After all, the sewing stash has hardly been touched in months. Can’t justify a new hobby! Although your end products have been very beautiful 🙂


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

