FO: Miss Milo

Picture 2394small

As I was thinking about what to cast on for next, I realised Miss 2.9 hadn’t had anything knit for her in a while. I asked her if she would like a vest like “Bubby’ub’s” and she said yes. We had a look through my stash together, and she chose some raspberry 4 ply. No!  Thank goodness it’s an 8ply knit. Her second choice was some coral/pink Wool Company 8ply, and there was plenty there, so I cast on for her. She asked me how her ‘teddy’ was coming along. Teddy? I said vest!

It was quite fun to get her to look at the pattern and choose which cable pattern she wanted (there is a choice of five). And, thanks to her cheerleading, it was finished last night. I forgot to block it (read – good telly last night, so I sat on my arse and knitted instead… always fun to cast on something new the instant you cast off something old!) and she found it this morning. So the vest has had its first wearing unblocked today.

It met with her approval, and she has enjoyed being able to take it on and off herself. She even took it for a spin on her wheels this morning 🙂

Picture 2415small

The cable of choice was the horseshoe cable, which is a simple 6 row repeat.

Picture 2424

Even though this is a size 3, I was still able to knit it in just a couple of days – I am falling more and more in love with this pattern. The perfect gift knit 🙂

Picture 2419

Big sister insisted little sister wear her vest (again) today too.  I’m not one for matchy-matchy children (although they do own some clothes the same), but, hey, why not 🙂  DH thinks Miss 1 looks decidedly corporate in her vest.  Maybe so, but I don’t know any execs with cute love-heart tights and fat cloth bottoms!

Picture 2406

It has been a spectacular day here today, the third day of sunshine after a week of rain, and the girls have been playing so well together. We were meant to go to playgroup this morning, but instead stayed home for Miss 1 to have a morning nap while Miss 2.9 did playdough and dancing. Idyllic.

Picture 2400

And I got some time to knit a few rounds on a beret for me, and made (and unmade) some progress on my first sock club sock.  I’m up to the final few rows of the final chart, and then I just have to knit to my desired length.  I must remember, when there is a chart – follow it!

7 Responses to “FO: Miss Milo”


  1. 1 Libby June 19, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Gorgeous! the kids & your knits! That vest pattern looks like a great gift knit, might have to find some toddlers I can knit for……….mmmm. As for you & your lovely north island sunshine we are freezing here, have had snow during the week and several days of 0 degrees, miserable.

  2. 2 Judy June 20, 2009 at 3:56 am

    Ah, lovely pictures of my adorable nieces in knitwear. Very happy way to start my day 🙂

  3. 3 Sharon June 20, 2009 at 10:24 am

    The two vests are so cute! Your girls are lucky to have such a productive knitting mummy.

  4. 4 Clare June 20, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Oh so that’s where you were! We missed you. Love little Miss A’s new vest….I’ve gotta get going for one for little Bea

  5. 5 Heather June 20, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Miss 2.9 looks happy as pie in her lovely new vest. You are a wicked speedy knitter. I think I need to come up with a button for you. The Wicked Speedy Knitter button. Hmmmm…You would probably finish another knitted item before I could make a button. But I shall give it a try.

  6. 6 I June 21, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Too freakin’ cute. I love little kids on bikes.

  7. 7 shortly24 June 21, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Thanks 🙂

    And, Heather, I’m nearly finished one sock of a pair (just need to do sewn bind off) but less than half way through my beret. Shall we race? Seriously though, that’s a very kind offer 🙂 I am soooo enjoying knitting some small things and feeling like my to-do list is shrinking. Until I browse Ravelry and read blogs and come up with still more to add to it!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

