Scaredy Cat

I think that you might be able to accuse me of being a scaredy cat.

You see, yesterday my latest Vintage Purls sock club yarn and pattern arrived. Tis absolutely gorgeous.

Picture 2571

 

 

But there is only one problem – it is stranded colourwork.

I don’t *do* colourwork.

I do cables. I do lace (badly), I do large stretches of boring stuff with minimal whingeing. I don’t do colourwork.

I love the pattern – called ‘Nightingale’, it features a stunning nightingale bird in multicolours over a semisolid background colour. The colours are utterly stunning. But I just don’t think it’s my cup of tea.

You see – and here’s a confession – not everything I knit ends up finished. And not all of it ends up here… and two items I’ve tried already this year and frogged were both colourwork. Sigh. I suck at stranding, I suck at tension and the overall product looks blah. So, do I really want to waste two beautiful skeins of sock yarn on a blah result? I think not.

So, call me a scaredy cat if you like, but I will be looking through my sock pattern books to see what these two skeins will become. I totally adore both colourways, so watch this space!

Picture 2572

3 Responses to “Scaredy Cat”


  1. 1 Amybel July 16, 2009 at 2:25 am

    Hmph, if you’re a scaredy cat I wonder what that makes me! The multi yarn looks just like some sock yarn Tink sent me. Beautiful!

  2. 2 Judy July 16, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Well, it’s not like you’re short on sock books for inspiration. Has your Cookie book arrived yet? I’m delving into my Wendy Knits one for the first time this week (cables & lace).

  3. 3 Kelly July 16, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Love the semi solid…and I’m with you – not really into stranded colourwork!


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 339,537 hits

