Crafty Thursday

It’s nearing the end of the school holidays and DS said this morning “What are we doing today?” Well, I wasn’t planning any outings in *that* rain, but a morning sewing appealed.  As it happened, it appealed to all of us.

Yesterday I had arranged to meet some friends at the library, and our visit co-incided with their preschool programme. For the activity, the children cut (well, I cut) and coloured some cats ears, which were a big hit.

Picture 2577small

But paper doesn’t last long, especially when worn all day – and by all day I mean to bed as well… so I thought we could all make some cat ears. I traced around the wee ears we had already, cut out two of each, sewed them together and stuffed lightly. Then I made a headband for them, making it multi-sized by using elastic for the back of it.  Cute!  DS designed, cut out and stuffed (yep, I know how to assign the crap jobs) a tail too. Which would have been more cool if he didn’t show his sister how to hit stuff with it before it was even finished. Sigh.

Anyway, this is a hit, and by the time it was finished, the weather had cleared enough for us to go for a walk.

Picture 2583small

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the last few weeks I have been anticipating the arrival of some scrummy Amy Butler fabric which I bought off a friend who was destashing. I wanted to make the girls and I a library bag each.  Miss nearly 3 had a reusable one which recently deveoped a hole in the bottom, so I cut it up to use as a pattern.  And this is the first of the bags complete – probably for Miss 1.

Picture 2579

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The fabrics I used were all from the Nigella range, upholstery weight. I had some plain pink drill which I used to line it. I am pretty pleased with it for a first go. I might make a few technical changes for the next one, but I will keep much the same.

And finally, a sneak at a pair of socks I finished last weekend. I did the first sock back in May before I headed down to the Knitters Weekend. They were running a sock knitting competition, and I intended to enter these in the hand dyed section. But I ran out of time…

Picture 2580

So, in the spirit of finishing things off, I knitted the second of this pair. It is an original pattern, but I am not happy with the heel on these, so will knit another pair at some stage before I let you know the juicy details.

8 Responses to “Crafty Thursday”


  1. 1 Sharon July 16, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Love the bag! Such great colours. Nice kitty cat outfits too.

  2. 2 Jo July 16, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    cute pussy cat outfit, and that bag, yummo

  3. 3 Judy July 17, 2009 at 3:12 am

    Crafty indeed!

  4. 4 Amybel July 17, 2009 at 11:53 am

    You really do it all, don’t you?

  5. 5 Julia aka j-j July 17, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Far out you are clever “i just whipped up these ears, and the tail and these bags and these socks”…oh my days, I get tired just thinking about how busy you must be! 🙂 LOVE reading about it all though!

  6. 6 Alexandra July 17, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I love the bag! The fabric is very pretty!

  7. 7 Leah July 28, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    OMG I can’t believe I had this fabric for a couple of years and never got around to sewing it and you sew it up in a few days. You are amazing. I love the bag 😀

    • 8 shortly24 July 28, 2009 at 10:58 pm

      I’ve got lots more plans too! I wish that I had a chance to sew up more, but with study and kiddies underfoot, knitting is a lot easier to get through.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,537 hits

