FO: Man Jersey

Yay, done! This must be knit #9 for the year in the NaKniSweMoDo challenge, and the first one that’s not for me.

Picture 2602

The pattern I used was from Interweave Knits Winter ’08 issue, Woven Bands Pullover by Hana Jason.  When I picked it, I hadn’t realised that the sleeves are 2/3 length, which would never do! So, I had to do some immediate pattern alterations as you cast on at the sleeve. It was easily fixed by adding 5 inches of straight knitting before I started the increases. The beauty of starting at the sleeve was that it doubled as my gauge swatch too! Yay, no waste of knitting or time.

Picture 2607

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A patterned panel runs up the arm, across the front and back of the neckline and down the other arm. Knit in linen stitch, it adds some interest without too much fussiness – must keep it manly after all!

The neckline is a boatneck, which seemed really wide in the pattern, so cue another alteration. Instead of knitting 15 rows (for the smallest size) before starting neckline shaping, I added 1.5 inches more straight knitting.  This reduced the size of the neckline by 3 inches total, and I adjusted the front and back accordingly when I knit them.  Even so, DH requested I sew up the neckline a little, which I did, making it a total of 2 inches smaller again. Gosh, he would have fallen out of the pattern as written.  Gotta love knitting for people who wear the smallest size though!

The front and back of the jersey are knit sideways, which DH isn’t too sure about… Men just don’t understand fashion – and making knitting easier! I think it looks just fine!

Picture 2609

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The yarn that I used was Wool Company 12 ply – to be found nowhere on their website, I picked it up a couple of years ago, and I was concerned about yardage as it was nowhere on the label. Ha! I ended up with 230g left out of 800 – so 570g used. Luckily for me a friend is keen to snaffle the leftovers, as I am trying so hard to destash!

I had set myself a deadline of tomorrow to finish this, as DH is back off to work the next day and it’s always nice to wear something new for a new term. So, yay, I made my own deadline – despite working a bit on something for me… all will be revealled soon. And in the meantime, the man jersey is getting a good test run before work on Monday 🙂

 

Picture 2619

6 Responses to “FO: Man Jersey”


  1. 1 Judy July 18, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Looks awesome! And nice modeling, Rob 😉

  2. 2 Heather July 18, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Shortly, you have done it again. This sweater is just gorgeous. Truly. It looks great on your Dh. I can’t wait to see what you are working on for yourself.

  3. 3 Hannah July 18, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Wholey moley done allready?!!

  4. 4 Jo July 18, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Oh I do like that, great job

  5. 5 SweetP July 18, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Looks great! Well done

  6. 6 Amybel July 20, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I will never ever understand how you can knit so quickly! Your kids must take three hour naps. Two or three times a day! Wow. Nice job.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

