Stash Planning

I’ve been thinking about yarn stashes lately. Well, I guess lots of knitters think about stashes a lot – the ideal stash, stashes that are too big, too small, too blah, I could go on. Stashes are, after all, lots of fun to think about, and to grow. But since my self- imposed buying ban has been in place I’ve been thinking about what makes a good stash. What I would like to have in my stash, and what I *should* have in my stash.

So, what prompted this – first it was a search for a small ball of navy yarn I *knew* was in there. This took about 25 minutes as I searched, shifted, fondled and reorganised. I realised that of my two yarn boxes, one is entirely full of sweater sized amounts of yarn, all purchased this year for NaKniSweMoDo ’09. More that I have left to do, somehow.  The other box is either lovely sock yarn or things I bought on sale, on clearance, on a whim, or leftover from projects. Plus one or two things from projects never begun.  Oh, and some beautiful Malabrigo that I bought before my stash freeze started.

And then this arrived…

Picture 2624

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve included a ball point pen, just for scale, you understand. Yep, FIL is back from his overseas visit, yarn in tow. I can tell you this: I don’t know of *anything* good that comes in 400g balls.

Not exactly sure *what* to do with this!

But it wasn’t all bad! I also got 400g of lovely!

Picture 2623

200g each of two colourways of Rowan Colourscape Chunky. Mmmm.

What am I going to do with this?

Stash it!

It’s exactly the kind of inspiration I’d like to find when I open up my stash to see what is calling to me!!

Now, I should *not* be looking at yarn since I’m not buying but temptation keeps coming across my path. My current temptation is this lovely yarn from South Seas Knitting. So many pretty colourways… and half price until the end of this month only.  Makes a girl regret her buying ban.

So – tell me about your stashes!  How big, small, useful, fanciful, out of control is it?  How do you buy? Do you regret purchases? Move things on if they don’t appeal or is it once in the stash, always in the stash?

6 Responses to “Stash Planning”


  1. 1 hoaenz July 20, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Well as you know – my stash is too huge.
    Quite a bit of it inherited from my Mum so have WONDERFUL (not) relics of the past like velvet feel yearn and FLUFFY mohair………oh my.

    So am always on the outlook for projects that might somehow take these oddballs and turn them into something useful/stylish/funky??

    Really though I need to just sit and knit a bit before buying more and perhaps harden up and pass on some of it – and then you post links to GORGEOUS wool on SALE!

    I think you should definitely buy some – cos then I can admire it in your stash and not have to buy any for me! ;->

  2. 2 hoaenz July 20, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    oh and that Rowan yarn is LOVELY!! Nice enough to make up for the other.

  3. 3 Alexandra July 20, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    I’ve only been knitting for a little over a year, so my stash is not as big as would like. I’m working on it though! I actually have a lot of yarn, but it’s sweater quantities for planned projects. I always get one or two extra skeins so I’m slowly creating a collection of dk weight yarn in many colors, to use for color projects.

    I love the yarn I have, but I don’t have all the yarn I love. Every day I have to resist the temptation to buy more!

    The Rowan yarn is gorgeous!

  4. 4 sara July 21, 2009 at 5:36 am

    My stash is huge. It’s been growing since 2005. Mainly sock yarn and dishcloth cotton. I honestly think I have enough yarn to last at least a year. I just put myself on a yarn diet on Saturday. I’ve been clean for 2 days.

  5. 5 Hannah July 21, 2009 at 8:32 am

    oh wow sheryl, your Father in law did well!!!
    That is one MASSIVE ball of yarn!

    I have a non existent stash. 3 hanks all with a purpose, but im working on it 8)

  6. 6 Sarah July 26, 2009 at 7:18 am

    my stash is a WIP aswell, but quickly growing too large to handle. You know what my worst temptation is?? Sweaters for frogging. How can you resist a cashmere/angora blend for $3.50? I probably get $30 worth of yarn out of it!

    I have 5 sweaters in that stash at the moment. I believe I’ll begin those today. 🙂


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

