Something Simple

My friend Kelly inspired me in my latest wee project. She has been teaching her younger sister to knit, and even has plans to teach her hubby. And their project of choice? A super simple dishcloth.

Having a wee stash of dishcloth cotton, and a desire to trim my stash a little, it seemed the perfect time to cast of for this yarn chewing pattern.  Called the “Easy Peasy Dishcloth”, the name is no lie.  There are two different patterns, one a garter stitch beauty, and the other a brioche stitch.  I tried this, but failed, so instead came up with a trio of pretty cloths inspired by their pattern.

Picture 2650

From the top: slip stitch pattern in Peaches and Creme cotton and random 4ply cotton;  a stitch pattern based on the linen stitch of Dh’s jersey in  John Q white cotton and Anchor Magicline;  a super chunky Grandmother’s Favourite dishcloth knit if Peaches and Creme cotton and John Q pink cotton.

Picture 2652

All of these are super large, thanks to being knit on 6.5mm needles they take less than 90 minutes each to knit. I have plans for at least 3 more as I continue to trim my stash. It’s awesome to see the yarns coming to life, and I love the way they work together to make a totally different look to when they are worked single stranded.

Now I’m torn – they are almost too pretty to use, but I can’t wait to see how super absorbent and super scrubby they are!

8 Responses to “Something Simple”


  1. 2 Heather July 25, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Did you and AmyBel coordinate your posts today? She wrote about the dishcloth she did as well. I love the colors you used for yours. They are almost too pretty to use.

  2. 3 shortly24 July 25, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Heather, believe it or not I had such a busy time yesterday I didn’t actually read any blogs! So I’ve not seen Amybel’s post yet. So I think it’s coincidence!

    The two Peaches and Creme colours were birthday gifts from my sister, and are just lovely! I’ve got enough of the blue for another cloth, but not of the pink unfortunately.

  3. 4 Kate E July 25, 2009 at 7:41 am

    OMG they are lovely S. Love the colours of the yarn. I want to do some as have been gifted two dishcloths and they are our firm fav.

  4. 5 Vicki July 25, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Glad to see you could make something so lovely with the yarn!
    I think I have only used my one once – it’s just too cute.

  5. 6 Amybel July 26, 2009 at 1:13 am

    I think Alexandra’s little wrist problem has had us thinking about her, and her love of cotton. Maybe we are supporting her get well efforts by knitting cotton for her!

  6. 7 Hannah July 26, 2009 at 11:56 am

    very veyr nice! my mum put in an order for some cloths yesterday after seeing mine wipping up party mess haha

  7. 8 Kelly July 27, 2009 at 9:28 am

    They are so very pretty Sheryl 😀
    Have you given them a whirl yet? I have to say they are my new favs (my sister gave one of the ones she knit to me)……..so chunky – it feels like you are really holding on to something as you use it.
    And of course the ones that Jess did were one strand of acrylic, one strand of cotton – so I get the absorbency from the cotton plus the scrubbing power of the acrylic. Bliss!


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

