Something Matching

I have accepted the inevitable. If I knit something for Miss 1, Miss almost 3 will want that same thing for herself. So, I had been planning a Rainbow Dress for Miss 1 for some time, having dyed up some yarn 6 or so weeks ago for it.  A size 1 dress knits up so fast and after just a couple of days on knitting I had finished a cute wee dress for her.

Picture 2673

Just one problem. When I dyed the yarn I had a few issues – the green I initially used did not dye up well, and the replacement green I used didn’t grab me. I thought knitting it up might fix it, but I wasn’t convinced. So, I test dyed a strand and decided that the answer would be to redye the finished dress.

From this…

Picture 2672

to this…

Picture 2689

I was much happier with the finished result after dyeing, and I think it looks really cute on too. Pity the best shot I managed to get was of little miss acting like a carpet slug though.

Picture 2691

I made a number of pattern modifications to this wee dress. Instead of casting on for the Rainbow Dress, the garter stitch section is actually from the Milo vest, which I think sits better on the shoulders. I had to play with the numbers a little once I finished this section, I had an extra 4 stitches over the recommended number, so not too many at all. I increased every sixth row instead of fifth row, although now I see it on her, I think the extra flare might have been better. I also did a lace section on the bottom of the dress, just for something a bit different. The yarn was Charity 8ply, a cheap as chips machine washable 100% wool that our local yarn shop Knitworld has been stocking this year in an effort to make 100% wool accessible to charity knitters instead of nasty acrylic.

After the speedy size 1, a size 3 seemed to take much longer, plus Miss Almost 3 was agitating to have her dress completed. I  knit this from Wool Company Merlot (bodice and hem) and Orchard for the skirt. Orchard is no longer being made, and this is the last of my stash. The girls have a wee Anouk dress, Boheme cardigan, soaker and legwarmers from it already so I think I have had my fill of this colourway now anyway.

Picture 2686

I made almost exactly the same mods to this dress, except in a size 3. I did a garter stitch hem, making it nice and long to stop it from curling up.

Now, I had visions of having a cute picture of the girls wearing these together. I didn’t even manage a nice photo off Miss almost 3 in hers, let alone a shot of them together. Endless rain has meant no outdoor photo shoot, so excuse the telly-in-the-background shot.

Picture 2694

I adore this on her, it fits beautifullly, and even a complete stranger stopped us in the street to admire it. Gotta love appreciation!

6 Responses to “Something Matching”


  1. 1 sara August 3, 2009 at 2:27 am

    The girls are darling in their new finery! Great knitting!

  2. 3 Heather August 3, 2009 at 6:39 am

    The girls look adorable in their dresses. Your over dye of Miss 1’s dress turned out great.

  3. 4 crazycarfternz August 3, 2009 at 7:40 am

    Love them. I love both the Size 1, the before is very cute and the green looks quite nice. I do love the over dye as well.

    What do you dye with?

    • 5 shortly24 August 3, 2009 at 8:07 am

      Thanks Jo 🙂 I usually use acid dyes for all my dyeing. The green is actually Dylon cold though, and it turned out completely differently to how it did last time I used it (a light spring green). Not nicey! I got my dyes from http://www.tillia.co.nz Or rather, from DH for Christmas. They last and last and last, they’ve been a great buy 🙂

  4. 6 Hannah August 3, 2009 at 11:14 am

    oh wow sheryl they are beautiful!!! did you do the Milo underarm bits?


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

