Something Rushed

Picture this. It’s around 5pm on Sunday afternoon when DH turns on his computer. He has a diary function on it which prewarns him of upcoming events. He announces it’s his mother’s birthday on Friday.  I think in future it would be nice if he set his computer alarm function for a couple of weeks in advance! I take no responsibility for not remembering her birthday, we’ve only been married five years.

I would be lying if I said he asked me to knit her a gift. But I had been intending to knit her something – probably socks, so I figured that this gave me just 4 knitting nights to pick a pattern and make it from start to finish. Socks seemed like a bit of a push in 4 days.  MIL is the kind of person who likes to accessorise, so I thought that she might like a scarf. After a bit of Raverly-ing, I decided to go with the flow (or rather a great tide) and cast on an Ishbel.  This is the third Ysolda Teague pattern I’ve knit this year and I am a fan of her patterns – they are so clearly written, despite them being among the more challenging knits I’ve undertaken this year. (Read, lacey and needing to have a pattern to hand. I am, after all, a lazy knitter at heart.)

I fossicked in my stash and came up with some 4ply Touch Yarn, variegated in a selection of delicious dark plum, rust, grey and greens. After a bit of help winding from my friendly local toddlers, I was ready to go. The first part of the pattern is stocking stitch and it just flew by. I can’t say I enjoyed the second part as much. For some reason the lace sections did not click with me and I did a lot of pattern following.  I might be the only person in the knitting universe not in love with Ishbel.  Don’t get me wrong, she is cute, but it was not an intuitive knit for me, which is something I love.

Anyway, my self imposed deadline of Wednesday night was stretched out a bit and by 10am Thursday morning, Ishbel was blocking in the sunshine. (Gosh, I love blocking shawls!)

By 1pm she was ready for a quick bit of modelling and then ready for wrapping.

Picture 2727

 

Picture 2716small

Picture 2731

It feels good to have it finished, but alas there is no hope it will make it to her in time for her birthday. I deputised DH to take it to the postoffice, and he forgot the crucial bit – fast post! So, the lovely Ishbel is making her way s-l-o-w-l-y to the South Island.

Meanwhile, I have been busy studying and getting ready for another weekend block course at University. This has been my week:

Picture 2715

Well, actually I’ve been writing an assignment and preparing a seminar too, but they don’t take very good photos 🙂

5 Responses to “Something Rushed”


  1. 1 sara August 7, 2009 at 2:38 am

    It’s really pretty! You must be a fast knitter. I would never have made a 4 day deadline!

  2. 2 Judy August 7, 2009 at 3:07 am

    You should keep in mind sewn gifts are much less stress for making last minute pressies. Turned out pretty!

  3. 3 shortly24 August 7, 2009 at 7:42 am

    I know! But I gave her a sewn Christmas pressie, and it’s hard enough to think of things to give her already!! I don’t think I could have thought of something sewn (?)

  4. 4 Amybel August 7, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Beautiful colors. I’ve already decided that Ishbel is the perfect pattern for my MIL too, but I need something that can be picked up and put down, a lot! And I’m not a fan of having to have pencil in hand to mark off every little bit of the pattern either. But it looks lovely and you did a good job!.

  5. 5 Heather August 7, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Oh my, Shortly, she should love it. It’s beautiful. I’m impressed you were able to get it finished in time. But I’m not surprised. You truly do live up to the speedy knitter button.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

