Something cosy

Picture 2713

I’m loving this quick slipper pattern! Miss so-close-to-three-I-can-nearly-taste-the-cake and I both have a pair, and they are quick to knit, cosy to wear, and super cosy.

The pattern is an oldy but a goody, a traditional 1940’s pattern and posted on this blog.

Although the pattern is knitted flat and seamed, it’s easy to do them seamless to – do Judy’s Magic Cast on, or Turkish cast on, and instead of knitting in the round, knit back and forth on the stitches which creates the seam at the back. And once the foot is long enough, join the stitches in the round and no seaming, easy as that. I hate trying to seam garter stitch nicely!

Picture 2714

The pattern calls for double stranded worsted weight yarn. For both pairs I used double stranded Dk from my stash – I used up almost all of my leftover navy yarn – two different types, but it’s not noticeable. And For my pair I teamed it with leftovers from Miss 1’s Rainbow Dress (not redyed).

Picture 2712

Miss so-close-to-three-I-can-nearly-taste-the-cake’s slippers are a hit. They are knit from a plain grey yarn and a cute pink and purple variegated yarn, not too bright with the grey, and so cosy! 

So, if you’ve got cold toes and some leftover yarn in your stash, this is the pattern for you!

And speaking of patterns, I’m nearly ready to release my new pattern! Watch this space 🙂 There will be another giveaway to celebrate too 🙂 Must make room in my stash for the 400g of yarn I have coming. I fell off the wagon! In my defense, a friend was destashing a deleted yarn that I love knitting *and* which wears well. A no-brainer really!

6 Responses to “Something cosy”


  1. 1 Kelly August 10, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Awww, matching slippies! Lucky lucky miss Allie

  2. 2 Jo August 10, 2009 at 11:48 am

    aww they look fantastic, and how cute matching. I’m going to have to do a pair of these for myself.

  3. 3 sara August 10, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    thanks for reminding me about this pattern. I need to make another pair! Yours look great!

  4. 4 Lisa August 10, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Hello my dear long lost friend, You are a blogging Knitting mumma now. I will be adding you to mu blogroll so I can follow your project closely.
    Me I do blog as you discovered, but I do not knit. I think you are very clever.
    Hey Thanks for your comment on my blog. I am doing ok.
    xxx
    Lisa

    • 5 shortly24 August 10, 2009 at 4:32 pm

      I knit therefore I am 🙂 Was lovely to stop by your blog and see you, but so sorry to hear of your loss. Will look forward to following blog and reading about your wee family. And knit you may not, but those chairs you did were awesome!!

  5. 6 Lisa August 10, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Oh dear lots of errors in my last comment. Grrr I should have edited before sending esp to the english wizz that you are.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 339,907 hits

