Knitting in the dark

Picture 2740

Last weekend we had to travel up to Auckland so I could got to University for a block course – the third of four this weekend.  We drove up Friday and back Sunday night. I quite dislike night driving, so DH took the wheel once it got dark.  The only problem with that is sacrificing the daylight hours for knitting!

I had a two socks (um, no, not matching, two different patterns) with me, but one needs ripping back a bit, and the other has a lacey panel on the front. Neither was suitable for knitting in the dark.  But I had cast on a wee Milo vest, and so I abandoned putting a cable panel in and knit around and around and around for three hours in the dark. I might even have finished knitting it except DH got tired I had to take another turn at the wheel.  Finished on Monday morning, this wee 12 month size vest is super cute, and surprisingly mistake free.

I am, however, not sure what I am going to do with this vest. My wee one doesn’t seem to suit yellow any more than I do. I was gifted this yarn in a magic yarn ball swap some months ago, and it was intended for socks.  It even tried to become socks, but it just wasn’t working. I have been trying hard to clear the decks recently, downsizing the stash, organising the WIPs I have lying around and so on. So, the sock headed off to the frogpond and rather than having the yarn join the stash, I figured I should knit it up right away. So, I double stranded this 4 ply hand dyed yarn to create a cosy vest.  I used all of the 100g.   And while I was knitting I came across lots of cute surprises: a wee bracelet, earrings, cute stitch markers, extra beads, tasty tea bags, and at the very centre, a wee ball of  (what I suspect is) Luxor Cotton.  Everything was yellow themed too.  How to make knitting even better, eh!

Picture 2738

So, while I’m pleased to have had something to knit in the dark, I’m not sure what the future holds for this wee vest. Anyone out there suit yellow?

7 Responses to “Knitting in the dark”


  1. 1 Libby August 13, 2009 at 6:43 am

    I have a solution for knitting in the dark – I have a headlight ($35 from Kathmandu on sale) that works perfectly – not too bright to distract a driver but certainly bright enough to knit by. Mine gets heaps of use, put your order in for christmas or next mother’s day!

    • 2 shortly24 August 13, 2009 at 11:06 pm

      Are you sure that’s not grounds for divorce? Or commitment at the very least? I have the glovebox light available for emergencies 🙂

  2. 3 Heather August 13, 2009 at 7:08 am

    What a wonderfully cheerful vest. Shall I tell you what happened to me when I knit wee items with no purpose in mind other than to use the yarn? I ended up finding out I was pregnant. Just saying…

    • 4 shortly24 August 13, 2009 at 11:08 pm

      Oh, hahaha. I love babies. But I think I’ll restrict myself to knitting for other people’s babies from now on if it’s all the same with you!

  3. 5 Kelly August 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    That’s stunning…but then again I am a yellow fiend!

  4. 6 Sam August 17, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    looks great! … bright but ‘sunny’

  5. 7 Amanda @RusticRemnants October 16, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    That is absolutely beautiful. My littlest girl loves all things “lellow”.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,674 hits

