This time last week

Picture 2914

 

I was getting prepared to go to my friend Kate’s for a dyeing night. We had such a super time! A bunch of us enjoyed a curry first (and then Hannah’s delicious crumble), and then headed in to Kate’s kitchen for some dyeing fun.  For a number of my friends it was their first attempt at dyeing yarn and they tried out a range of techniques – hand painting with food colouring, dip dyeing with food colouring, and hand painting with acid dyes.  I was the sole person doing kettle dyeing.   Also, as a study in contrasts, I did up a second skein the next day with the exact same colours but dip dyed, to show the differences.

I finally wound my attempts today, so you can enjoy some pics.

First up is some 4 ply that was white to begin with. I wanted a semisolid red, without being pink. I wasn’t overly happy with the amount of variegation I achieved, and the picture doesn’t really show any variegation at all, but there is a little.

Picture 2915

Next came two on the same base. You might recall my comment that I had no more yarn to dye. I had a choice – stay with my pledge not to buy, or break it.  I dug deeper in the stash and sacrificed some yarn I didn’t love. An unlabelled DK weight yarn that a friend picked up for me at a mill sale, I have 500g of it. So, each  of these skeins is 100g.  I’m not sure of the yardage, but it looks generous. I had started knitting it up, in fact I’ve got a nearly finished sleeve for a me-sized sweater… but needs must!

Anyway – this is the kettle dyed version.

Picture 2910

And this was dip dyed, with a touch of black painted on the bits where the colours meet.

Picture 2909

Much cuter than the plain sage I started with 🙂

 

And here’s a link to more pics of the night.

So, who are these crafty friends of mine? They are an awesome bunch of ladies that I met through The Nappy Network. We are now getting together pretty much every Tuesday night for knitting nights, travelling around from house to house. Not all of them are bloggers, but you can check out some cool sites here from Hannah, Nyree, Kate and Sam. We are a mixed bunch from experienced knitters through to complete newbies.  It has been awesome to see fellow knitters come ahead in leaps and bounds, to see delicious  projects and beautiful yarns.  They seem to be averaging one yarn co-op a week at the moment but I’ve been standing strong 😉  I’ve got some great ideas about what to buy when the time comes though!

5 Responses to “This time last week”


  1. 1 Jo August 30, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    That yarn looks fantastic. You ladies are so lucky to have a bunch of lovelies so close 🙂

  2. 2 Julia aka j-j August 30, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I was coming to comment exactly the same thing Jo – great minds 😉

    Love the yarn dyeing though! Well done!

  3. 3 topperarnold August 31, 2009 at 12:35 am

    I love the kettle dyed stuff!

  4. 4 Nancy McCarroll September 1, 2009 at 12:04 am

    You did a great job! That is something I’d like to do (dyeing, that is) but am afraid of the “mess” for some reason. Anyway, pretty colors!

    • 5 shortly24 September 1, 2009 at 8:19 am

      Kettle dyeing or doing food colouring in the crockpot might be you best ways – less messy than painting yarn that’s for sure 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

