FO: Multnomah

Picture 2947

So, I know I’m meant to be knitting sweaters… but lookie what else has been on my needles. 

Browsing on Ravelry last week (as you do) I was struck by this lovely new shawlette pattern. My kind of pattern – simple, and with a feather and fan edging it promised to be an easy knit. I needed something to knit that I could do while reading, my CPH really doesn’t fit the bill – cabling doesn’t lend itself to not looking! And of course once the lace started to take shape, I just couldn’t put it down.

Picture 2935

Now, if you’ve been following my blog for long, or know me at all, you’ll know I’m mad about purple. So, the colour I chose to knit this wee beauty in won’t surprise you. And in fact I have  a confession to make – this is one of the three yarn cakes in my blog header. And since I dyed it up in December last year, it has been sitting in various places around the house looking beautiful, asking me to knit it up. And now I have.

Picture 2951

So, the yarn – I dyed it with Procion MX dyes, in blue and purple, the purple was made up to two different strengths, and the whole lot was dyed in the microwave.  The base yarn is Vintage Purls 4 ply sock yarn, deliciously soft and wonderful to work with as always.  I have about 15g left over, so 85g to knit this pattern. When I soaked to block, it leaked dye everywhere, but after a nice water and vinegar bath it started to behave itself again.

So, the pattern: this is a lovely wee knit. Simple, well written, the wee shawlette is a satisfying knit. The lace is intuitive, and while the rows get reeeeally long towards the end, it is an enjoyable wee knit.

Picture 2953

8 Responses to “FO: Multnomah”


  1. 1 Heather September 3, 2009 at 12:17 am

    It’s beautiful! What a fantastic color.

  2. 2 hoaenz September 3, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Very nice!
    now I’m curious as to what happened to the green and pink in your header photo?

    • 3 shortly24 September 3, 2009 at 8:12 am

      I *so* knew someone would ask that – they’re patiently waiting their turns in the stash. Still. Once they are done, I guess I’ll need a new header pic!

  3. 4 topperarnold September 3, 2009 at 9:28 am

    So pretty!

  4. 5 Kelly September 3, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Thats very cute! Staying in your house?

  5. 6 Lina September 4, 2009 at 7:33 am

    What a pretty shawlette! I love the color.

  6. 7 Virginia September 4, 2009 at 9:19 am

    It’s so pretty! I’ve recently developed an unholy obsession with purple yarn. I’m a little jealous of your multnomah! (plus, I really love that area in Oregon)

  7. 8 Kardoo September 5, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    This is lovely. I am looking for a shawlette/scarf pattern myself but haven’t been struck down to knit anything yet. I have some black torquoise alpacca screaming at me to be knitted. So this has given me some idea of what I want. Cheers


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

