Little Monkeys

Picture 3026

After my post the other day about popular sock patterns, I came across a cute variation of Cookie A’s popular sock pattern, Monkey.  Instead of the regular 64 stitch pattern, I found this post on Ravelry where she posted a chart for a 12 stitch repeat, meaning a 48 stitch sock. Perfect for my little monkey.

I cast on 48 stitches and did k1p1 ribbing (instead of twisted rib, which I often have to work myself up to do),  for 8 rows. Then I worked 3 repeats of the pattern, before coming to the heel. What to do? I worked the heel flap and gusset as per my toddler sock pattern, allowing two more rows and two more stitches (as my pattern is 44 stitches).   Because it had more stitches than a pattern that already fit her well, I decreased to 22 stitches on the bottom of the foot and when I did toe decreases worked one extra set on the top of the foot. The toe decreases I worked every row as I was knitting the foot while Miss 3 was asleep and it was nearly too long. I decreased to 20 stitches and then grafted the toe. The end result is a good fit, somewhat roomy around the leg, as you can see by the baggy ankles but it stays on fine and is ultra cute.

Picture 3030

The yarn is some hand dyed Patonyle sock yarn which I dyed back in about April. Miss 3 loved it then, and she is delighted to finally have some socks from it!  It’s a semi solid with just small variations in colour, but it has knit up really sweetly, and I am really pleased with it.

And the pattern? I can see why Monkey is popular. Mostly when you hear me whinge on about the difficulties of lace knitting, it’s because it’s not intuitive. This pattern is. After reading the chart for half of the first repeat, that was it. No more pattern reading. Gotta love that! The original chart is an 11 row repeat.  This version is 9 rows, but freed from pattern reading, it’s a real pleasure to knit. And would I knit it again? Sure! I can see more monkeys, big and little, coming to join our sock family. And in fact, there is even a pattern adaptation on Raverly for micro-mini Monkeys.  So even Miss 1 might get a pair of teeny hand knit socks.

And speaking about monkeys, my wee monkeys have been keeping busy in the last wee while. I thought you might like to see some of what they have been crafting themselves.

Miss 3 “made” this bus for her “mannies” (aka Little People)

Picture 2918small

And on Friday we played hookie from playgroup (too wet) and stayed home instead. Miss 1 enjoyed putting the pencils in and out of the container, while Miss 3 enjoyed some colouring, rubbing out, cutting, glueing and glitter. These were taken before all the messy fun – ‘cuse their slightly bohemian appearance – they are going thru a bead phase. Although note , Aunty D, the star set – she loves it so much she sleeps in it 🙂 Thanks!Picture 3020small

Picture 3017

And, if you ever needed proof playing dress up is exhausting…

Picture 3024small

9 Responses to “Little Monkeys”


  1. 1 topperarnold September 12, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Precious, darling little feet!

  2. 2 Darcy September 12, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    I love the socks and the photos how precious are our babies especially when they are relaxed and asleep and I love watching them play:)Hugs Darcy

  3. 3 Hannah September 12, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I saw the mini monkey pattern while browsing the other day and thought of you after seeing your fullsize monkeys on wednesday 🙂

    Ashton also loves playing bus with his little people ( and tomblibo’s) in an egg carton! perfect fit 🙂

  4. 4 Caffeine Girl September 12, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Your little monkeys (in both senses) are so cute!

  5. 5 Kate September 13, 2009 at 12:00 am

    How sweet! Those socks are so adorable! And the little artists, too. 😉

  6. 6 Jo September 13, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Very cute socks there S. Love the photo’s of your play day, looks like you all had a blast.

  7. 7 Sam September 13, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    what cute little socks!

    & i love the ‘bus’ .. must introduce Miss E to that!

  8. 8 Delwyn September 14, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I’m so glad Miss 3 still loves stars. I got them quite a while ago, with her in mind.

    Love, D

  9. 9 Virginia September 15, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Ooh, perfect! After I knit myself some Monkeys, I’ll have to do some for my kiddo! Those are so adorable.

    And I love the last picture on your post. Sleeping child in wild outfit. Perfect.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

