It’s finished!

The moment has come – finally – my Central Park Hoodie is finished!

Picture 3067

Snuggly, cosy, and comfortable, I am loving the hoodie now that it’s done.

Stupidly though, it hasn’t been an easy road, I seemed to keep hitting speed bumps along the way with this knit. It started off plain sailing: the two sleeves were done first, then the back. I had to rip back one of the sleeves about 30 rows when I realised I’d crossed a cable two rows early.  I abandoned keeping a record of my rows at that stage – I figured if I coudn’t get it right *with* a notebook, there was little point in relying on one. And, well, the girls kept stealing it to do scribbles in too. Miss 1 favoured the exact same page I was using for some reason.

Front #1 was done easily, and then you’ve probably heard about front #2 where I realised two rows from the end that I’d made the same cable mistake as on the sleeve – except 10 inches back. Despite my efforts at tinking, I had to rip it back and knit again. The hood went smoothly, and the band knit up well too. But the seaming – ahhhh, the seaming!

It’s been a long while since I knit a sweater in pieces. And I was reminded why when seaming this beauty. Why? Not only the time spent, but then the horrible realisation I’d sewn a sleeve in upside down. Oh no!  No wonder it didn’t fit so well. 

So, today was a new day, the sleeve repositioned is much more attractive, and I popped on two toggles  that are destined to be replaced with cuter ones I found online (and in slightly better and more even positions).  And thus it was time to steam block and try it on again.

Here ’tis.

Picture 3075

Picture 3065

The yarn I used for the project was a total bargain – you might remember me saying I’d picked up extra skeins for extra length – I need not have bothered, I actually used way less than the requirements, 10 skeins of Naturally Sensation a divinely soft 70% Merino 30% Angora blend, which I paid $4 each for  – so a hoodie for $40 is great – and the extra 8 -yes 8 skeins – is more than enough for the gorgeous Rosamund’s Cardigan I’ve been drooling over from the latest Interweave Knits.  This yarn has a wee halo to it, but I think that the cables stand out well nevertheless.

Picture 3082

So, aside from my lessons in how to tink cables, and how to look twice before seaming, I did my first three needle bind off in this project and blocked something in pieces for the first time ever. 

And the pattern? It’s a popular pattern, and I can see why. The fit is good – it’s relatively close fitting without shaping, big enough to be cosy but not unflattering. The cables are simple, chunky and well placed.  The hood makes it a versatile piece, and I can see that it will get lots of wear. Well, it would if I hadn’t finished it in early spring  – but I’ll be pleased to see if in my drawer come autumn next year! I changed nothing about the pattern except the length, adding three inches in total. The sleeves are super long, and I will wear the cuffs folded up, except in super cold weather.

Picture 3079

So, 11 down, one to go and I’ll have my NaKniSweMoDo challenge complete.

17 Responses to “It’s finished!”


  1. 1 Carol September 20, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    ❤ Love it!!! I can't wait to make mine!

  2. 2 topperarnold September 20, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    You must have the patience of Job! I never would have made it through to the end with all those speed bumps. I humbly bow to your knitting powers. 🙂

  3. 3 Kate September 21, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Great sweater! The color looks amazing! I love your stick-to-itiveness. You may have inspired me to take out the remaining CPH sleeve I have in a bin and JUST FINISH THE SWEATER ALREADY!!

  4. 4 Virginia September 21, 2009 at 2:00 am

    It’s beautiful! Congratulations.

    I’m about to start making my first sweater in pieces, and I’m a little nervous.

  5. 5 Caffeine Girl September 21, 2009 at 3:00 am

    You get extra points for not throwing the project into the back of closet and forgetting about it. It was totally worth all that attention. Beautiful sweater!

  6. 6 shortly24 September 21, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Awww, thanks guys :)I hope to get knitting amnesia and just enjoy wearing this!

  7. 7 Jo September 21, 2009 at 7:45 am

    I’ve already commented on Rav but just wanted to say again. I LOVE IT. It’s something I would love to knit for myself one day, unfortunately I’m still a bit slow and not quite ready to do something for me.

    Love the colour and yes, what a bargain for $40 and yay for having enough to make something else, added bonus 🙂

  8. 9 hannah September 21, 2009 at 9:02 am

    WOW!!!
    Congrats on finishing it Sheryl, it looks amazing

  9. 10 Lisa Liddell September 21, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Now I can understand why my mother had a half finished cable knit jumper in her knitting bag for most of my childhood. In fact I imagine that it is still unfinished somewhere in the depths of her closet. Your tenacity is impressive as are you knitting skills. That will be super snuggly come winter.

    • 11 shortly24 September 21, 2009 at 10:47 am

      Hehe, yep, that and running around after you three seem like plenty good reasons for it to be half finished. Perhaps I should show you what’s half finished at my place – nothing impressive though.

  10. 12 neak September 21, 2009 at 10:16 am

    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh snuggly!!! Well done love the colour 🙂

  11. 13 Judy September 21, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Looks awesome, and well done for continuing on and getting it finished. It’d still be in my knitting basket. I need time to get over my mistakes and be ready to rip.

  12. 14 kreachr September 21, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Wow, you’ve done a fantastic job! It looks stunning, and makes me want to give it a go myself. I’m glad you persevered, you must be really proud of your work 🙂

    And a total score on the yarn! Where did you find that deal??

    Jealous (1)

  13. 15 Lina September 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    It looks beautiful! Great job!

  14. 16 I September 22, 2009 at 2:01 am

    Like-Like-Like!! You look nice and warm!

  15. 17 Heather September 22, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Oh it’s just beautiful. The color. The fit. The yarn, what a fantastic deal!! I love it. I’m sure you will be able to sneak in a wear or two before next fall.
    OT-I received the prize you I won from your contest today. (clap, clap,clap) Oh thank you so much!! I love it, too. ((hugs))


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

