Kerplunk!

Picture 3100

 Did you hear that?

It was me falling off the wagon. Yep, my self-imposed yarn buying ban is well and truely broken.

Oops!

So, first there was this:

Picture 3093

The kiwi dollar is so strong against the US at the moment that I just could not resist this delicious Colinette Jitterbug that I bought from JimmyBeans on special. It worked out about $22 NZ including postage per skein. I love all three colourways I bought, at the front is Ginger Cinnabar, and the middle is Velvet Bilberry, and Velvet Damson is at the back.  This is a lovely 4ply yarn, which is destined to be socks, or shawlettes.

Picture 3090

Next to arrive is this cone of undyed Vintage Purls sock yarn. My lovely knitting friends and I did a co-op, and it allowed me to get this cone at such a reasonable price. I am going to dye it up for this gorgeous cardigan from the latest Knitty magazine.  I figure once I’m done with my 12 knits,  I can do a slow 4 ply knit if I want 🙂

And then, well, I figured if I’ve fallen off the yarn wagon, I might as well enjoy it. So I bought these two cute limited edition skeins of Vintage Purls sock yarn.

Picture 3095

Picture 3097

And I am pleased to say that’s all I’ve bought. This lot I swapped for…

Picture 3099

These wee lovelies were swapped with a friend for some sewing I did for her. Each is 100g of Aran weight hand dyed Organic Merino. Yum!! It is from Woolly Wumpkins in the UK, and while I have not a clue what it is destined to become, it was too lovely to resist.

So, there you have it. I console myself with this: since this is a knitting blog, my buying yarn is more exciting for you than my *not* buying yarn.

Oh, and I did promise to finish knitting up my sock club socks before buying more yarn. I have totally failed at this, only 3 of 8 socks done. However, I have done another 4 pairs in addition to this, plus my yarn stash is actually smaller than I was aiming to get it. Each of these beauties actually has a space to go in my yarn box. (Although I do tend to keep new yarn out for petting and admiration for a while…)  So, all in all, this is the kind of failure I can live with.

12 Responses to “Kerplunk!”


  1. 1 Harpa J September 25, 2009 at 1:07 am

    What a lot of pretty yarn! The purple one and blue Vintage purl’s are my favourites. The green one is also lovely – and the orange one, and the white one and…

  2. 2 Caffeine Girl September 25, 2009 at 1:11 am

    I think anyone who finishes a Central Park Hoodie deserves a yarn splurge. Unfortunately, you’re a bad influence on my yarn diet!

  3. 3 Judy September 25, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Ah, my sympathies. Also on the up side (in addition to your having space in your yarn box(es?) to put it), you are an extremely quick knitter. If I purchased this lot, I’d never get around to knitting it all up, ever. Wish I was there to admire it in person 🙂

    I’m stuck on my sleeve edging for my sweater. Seriously, a week, or is it 2 now, for trim?

  4. 4 Alia September 25, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Yum, don’t blame you one bit! 😉

    And thanks for doing the undyed yarn co-op and enabling the rest of us 😛

  5. 5 shortly24 September 25, 2009 at 7:55 am

    For the record, my stash boxes are 2x 45 plastic boxes, pus one basket of yarn in the bedroom, which is currently quite empty. One has mostly project sized lots in it.

    Oh dear Alia, I guess I do fit the category of enabler now – following in my sister’s footsteps 😉

  6. 6 Hannah September 25, 2009 at 9:34 am

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    You may have fallen off, but it was SOOOO worth it! Gorgoues yarn

  7. 7 Kate September 25, 2009 at 10:41 am

    When we fall, we fall hard, right? All of the yarn is so pretty, they are all justified purchaces! Happy happy knitting!

  8. 8 Sam September 25, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Wow .. yum yum yum!

    and some good reasoning there 😉

  9. 9 Kelly September 25, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    drool…Ginger Cinnabar!!! How divine 🙂 Who can blame you when it’s yarn like that though 😉

  10. 10 Fiona September 25, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I fell off tonight too – 11 new skeins of Wollmeise are about to wing their way to me.
    That $$$ is just waaaay too tempting at the moment!
    YOur purchases are nice 🙂

  11. 11 Amybel September 25, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Oh sure. Excuses, excuses, excuses! But there are always good reasons to buy new yarn. It helps get the ufo(s) finished. Oh wait, that’s me. Most normal knitters would just cast on with the new stuff and ignore the lingering projects. Either way, enjoy your scrummy new yarn!

  12. 12 Lina September 26, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Wow, what a great fall off the wagon! LOL. Love all the skeins. 🙂


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

