Just one colour

The latest swap that I signed up for was a ‘colour’ swap. There were just a few rules to follow:

 

* that the items in the parcel were all one colour

*  that we followed a $20 price limit

I was a bit cheeky with this as I used some stash yarn I was given from a friend’s stash to make a pair of socks. I also dyed up some 4 ply yarn in an attempt at a semi-solid red (actually, it’s featured on here already), and included some red-wrapped chocolate and soap. I also made a wee pair of sock blockers from a plastic placemat – these cost me only $1 to make! All wrapped up in a bag I had recieved a gift in, I made it under the price limit.

Picture 3086

The socks are an adult size pair of Monkeys. So now I’ve done a set – baby sized, kid sized and adult sized. 

When I was borrowing my friend’s feet to try them on (thanks chook!) she asked me why they were called Monkeys. I had been wondering the same thing myself, but I think that if you look at the pattern picture, it gives you a bit of a clue.

Ever heard the saying about a  monkey on my back”?  In her introduction to the pattern on Knitty.com it sounds like Cookie A really struggled with this pattern, which is funny given what a great wee knit it is!  So, when they were done, the monkey was off her back. Or on it again for the photo shoot anyway 🙂

Picture 3083

 

These are my wee effort anyway – a solid red pair in 100% wool, and with woolly nylon in the heels to add extra strength.

So, here I sit, hoping that they have made it to their destination safely, and that they fit.

11 Responses to “Just one colour”


  1. 1 sparedes September 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    They look great!

  2. 2 Nancy McCarroll September 28, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Very clever idea and beautiful red socks!

  3. 3 Kate September 29, 2009 at 1:28 am

    You are very resourceful! Your partner is very very lucky. Those socks are beautiful!

  4. 4 Virginia September 29, 2009 at 4:20 am

    I wanna be your swap partner!

    And you’re just whetting my appetite for making my monkeys. (Monkies? erm…)

  5. 5 Kate September 29, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Wow how very cool Sheryl! Love the package you put together.

  6. 6 Jo September 29, 2009 at 6:51 am

    Very very cool, can’t wait to see who you sent too 🙂

  7. 7 Kelly September 29, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Oooh what a lucky lucky person to receive that parcel! 🙂

  8. 8 Julia aka j-j September 29, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Yep, I’m with everyone else! That’s a fab package!

  9. 9 Melissa Mclellan September 30, 2009 at 6:53 am

    Sorry everyone -I was the lucky swappee mawhahaha – Awesome Parcel – I love it to pieces and Yes they do fit perfectly – and I have little tiny feet too.

  10. 11 Melissa Mclellan October 14, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I just thought i’d say after wearing the socks that they are fab and fit sooo perfectly and keep my feet warm down here in Freezing Twizel – wore them the first morning we woke up here as it had been snowing the night before and the house has no carpet- awesome thanks sheryl


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

