Blogtober #3: Little Things

Picture 3153Today was off to a great start when I discovered not one but two parcels in my letterbox.  Ah, parcels, they are certainly one of the little things that make your day so much happier.

Parcel number one was my colour swap. Yay!  I had asked for either purple or green, and I actually got a lot of purple, with touches of green. Here is my beautiful parcel. Note the small girl perched behind, ready to pounce on the jar of green and purple jellybeans.

Here’s what happened next:

Picture 3157

I have lots of cute wee things here: a notebook, lipgloss (I am such a gloss addict!), cupcake wrappers, a wee desk set with lots of cute accessories, and a lovely fabric key fob with purple marker. There are also two balls of Stella Bamboo yarn. It’s a lovely dark shade, and a gorgeously silky. Perfect for something for summer for a little girl perhaps.

Parcel number two was also of a yarn-y nature. A couple of weeks ago a friend was destashing and I thought I’d help her out a bit. Kind. Thoughtful. Helpful. That’s me.  I grabbed a couple of skeins of Vintage Purls yarn, neither one is ‘my’ colours, but I thought that they would do for gifts. Of course now they arrive I love both of them. The central one is poorly photographed – it’s actually green and purple, and the orange one is lovely, perfectly named “Citrus Sunset”.

Picture 3158

And the third skein? My naughty friend slipped it into the parcel. A delicious skein of 20% bamboo, 80% merino sock yarn from Evoke yarns  in chocolatey shades – yum! Yarn loving friends – another little thing that makes your day.

And speaking of little things, I had been meaning to make my wee ones some cute wee owls ever since I saw Ysolda’s cute owl hairclip. So today I did just that.  These tiny beauties take very little yarn, and little time. But they are super cute, and my girls are rather taken with them. Both girls like to wear hairclips (although Miss 3 is generally known for her random placement) so I hope that they become favourites.

Picture 3160

 

Picture 3164

I knit these up on 3mm needles out of some Treliske Organic Merino DK that was sitting in my knitting basket.  Their wee heart shaped eyes were from my button jar – which of course meant DD1 and I got to play with buttons for a while – another little thing which makes us happy.

6 Responses to “Blogtober #3: Little Things”


  1. 1 Julia aka j-j October 3, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Love those yarns! And the jellybeans look good too 🙂 I always love seeing you get yarns because I think I’ll actually get to see what they knit up like in the future 🙂

    • 2 shortly24 October 4, 2009 at 8:55 am

      You flatter me too much! I’m rebuilding my stash at the moment – I’m enjoying the idea that I’ll have cute things in there for my idle moments. You know, the ones where you just can’t do another row on the project-of-the-moment and you need something else to knit. Or an unplanned gift is needed, those kind of moments.

      But yes, I do love to knit!!

  2. 3 Hannah October 4, 2009 at 7:08 am

    what an awsome day for parcels! hehe

    love the hairclips too, cute little pattern isnt it? and love the heart buttons 🙂

  3. 4 Jo October 4, 2009 at 7:09 am

    WOW, exciting day in your household. Love the purple and green package, and those hair clips look fantastic, must make some for Miss C as well (not that I can get clips to stay in her hair LOL)

  4. 5 Darcy October 4, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Love the goody package and all the pretty skeins of yarn my favorite are the pictures of your cherub wearing the cute owl hair barrett:) hugs Darcy

  5. 6 Kate E October 4, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Cute pics of your girls. Love the wee clips. Hmmm now I want jelly beans!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

