Blogtober 4th: My Space

Picture 3174

The carpet cleaners are coming tomorrow.  Which meant that today I had to clean house, which in turn meant that I cleaned my sewing desk, which in turn meant it was able to be photographed to share with you. Which in turn meant

So, here I present to you my sewing space. People who know me, try not to laugh too loud at how tidy this is, okay! To people who don’t know me, I will admit to a small amount of stashing of a mending pile in the cupboard, as well as the cleaning.

Since I was getting organised, I thought it was time to reorganise the yarn basket too – it’s an intentional overflow of the stash, and in fact all of this *would* fit in the boxes too, and in fact was in there until earlier today 🙂

Picture 3175

And the yarn stash is in here…

Picture 3177

I have to share space in the room with the second TV – useful when DS wants to watch something lame like ‘America’s Funniest Home Videos’ or a much replayed episode of The Simpsons. But I do have room for two big bookcases that reach nearly to the ceiling.

Picture 3176

My fabric stash is mostly in the cupboard, but I do have a wee overflow under our bed.  It feels like ages since I’ve sewed, I need to get my mojo back so I can cut the stash down a bit.

For now, the room is scarily tidy,  I love it, but wonder how long it will stay that way. Can hardly wait for clean carpet though! The tidying will have been worth it!

11 Responses to “Blogtober 4th: My Space”


  1. 1 Hannah October 4, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Oh my gosh look at that yarn basket!!!

  2. 2 Kate Salisbury-Metcalfe October 4, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Sheryl, you crack me up! Look at all that scrummy yarn. Love the basket, very cool :-).

  3. 3 Lisa Liddell October 4, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    You my dear have enough yarn for my lifetime. Its the simple pleasures. xxx

  4. 4 Judy October 5, 2009 at 3:59 am

    *snort* (trying not to laugh) It does look lovely. Do like the yarn candy basket. You have at least 3x as much yarn as me… though you knit about 3x faster, so we must be about even LOL

    Loving Blogtober 🙂

  5. 5 Jo October 5, 2009 at 6:05 am

    OMG look at all the yummy yarn Sherly. I am so jealous. Lovely looking space.

  6. 6 Flea October 5, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Love the space…my sewing space has been moved to my dining table as clutter and suitcases have taken over our spare room *sigh*

  7. 7 Darcy October 5, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Love the work space and the yummy basket of yarn need to organize my stash as well;) hugs Darcy

  8. 8 neak October 5, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Love the yarn basket!

  9. 9 Caffeine Girl October 5, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Yarn and books–both beautiful things for your decor!

  10. 10 Julia aka j-j October 6, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Yum – that basket of yarny goodness looks good enough to eat

  11. 11 Vicki October 6, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Wow!! I have never seen it so tidy! Have you always had a desk there?? Just joking.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

